Home > Adopt a GF Blogger, Gluten-Free, Menu Swap > Gluten-Free Menu Swap

Gluten-Free Menu Swap

Sadly, I have missed the past two menu swaps and when this happens I am always reminded of the importance of having a menu plan.  This past week was probably the best reminder considering the fact that I returned to work and ended up catching my one and only cold for the season.  The last thing I wanted to do when I returned home from work and when I was feeling awful was make dinner or even prepare lunches.  I think that even more frustrating is that I was planning on spending this weekend preparing some frozen meals for lunches for the upcoming weeks and doing a muffin bake-a-thon only to have that plan thrown into the wind.  Sigh… oh well, I guess that’s just a part of life.

The GF Menu Swap was originally started by Natalie over at Gluten Free Mommy, but is currently being run by Cheryl at Gluten-Free Goodness, who is also this week’s host.  If anyone is interested in joining in the menu swap check out who the host is for each upcoming week over at GF Goodness, host of the Menu Plan Schedule.  You will also find out how you can host the Menu Plan/Swap.

This week’s host is Gluten-Free Goodness and she has chosen  pears for this weeks ingredient.  I don’t have anything with pears, but we do have a bucket-load of pears that were freshly picked  up in Kamloops a week ago.  In fact, I just used a couple (in hopes of finishing them off before they go bad) to make a Ginger Pear Cake in my Saladmaster.  I was planning on posting the recipe this week…I wonder if Cheryl was reading my mind when she chose this ingredient!

SUNDAY – Chinese Homestyle Chicken & Rice

MONDAY –  Garlic Fried Cod (oil-free) with veggies and salad

TUESDAY – Crunchy Chicken Salad

WEDNESDAY – not sure yet…something quick and easy due to work

THURSDAY – London Broil (Chipotle-Dijon)

FRIDAY – Cast Iron Skillet Pizza

 SATURDAY – Grilled Rosemary Chicken & Caesar Salad (by request of my boyfriend’s son)

SOUP OF THE WEEK:   Split Pea Soup

LUNCHES/FUN KITCHEN STUFF:

My menu for this upcoming week is based on recipes from Kate over at Gluten-Free Gobsmacked.  She has some amazing recipes that I have tried in the past, but I lost touch this past year and have been working hard to catch up on my fellow bloggers and she has some more recipes that I am dying to try out.  Thus, I have adopted her blog for this month’s Adopt a Gluten-Free Blog.

  1. September 27, 2010 at 2:58 am

    Holy cats, woman! Thanks for thinking of me and “adopting” me via Seamaiden/Book of Yum blogger adoptions. I sure hope all of the recipes you have chosen work out to your delight! 🙂

    • September 27, 2010 at 4:57 am

      It seems a little stalkerish, but in all honesty I have been dying to try out a bunch of your recipes and this was the perfect excuse to do it. I know that they will be wonderful!

  2. September 27, 2010 at 4:18 am

    I am, of course, and accomplished mine reader. =) Glad pears work well for you, and I love the idea of cast iron skillet pizza. Have a great week.

  3. September 29, 2010 at 11:47 am

    Yes, Cheryl is a mind reader. I had pears on the menu and ripe and ready for a tart yesterday, too. So funny that Adopt-A- Blogger is stalkerish. But, if you’re gonna stalk someone GF, Kate is the one to get some great recipes. I’ve been making her flat bread recipe that she used for wraps for years.

  4. October 4, 2010 at 7:47 am

    I also contributed to the Adopt a Gluten Free Blogger 2010 September Edition. I made Kale Chips – betcha just can’t eat one! http://iamglutenfree.blogspot.com/2010/10/salt-vinegar-roasted-kale-chips.html

  1. September 27, 2010 at 4:21 am

Leave a comment