Home > Adopt a GF Blogger > Adopt a GF Blogger: Celiacs in the House

Adopt a GF Blogger: Celiacs in the House

Where has the time gone?!  For some reason I thought that I had until the end of the week – yikes!  Good thing I have a giant calendar on my desk because it is time for Adopt a GF Blogger, which was started by Book of Yum as a way to get to know other members of the virtual gluten-free community and trying out their recipes.  In fact, it is because of this wonderful carnival that I have discovered the delicious world of a gluten-free kitchen and treats.

Wendy of Celiacs in the House recently changed her blog and added some new touches.  One of the things that I really love about Wendy’s site is that the majority of her recipes are quick and easy, and the fact that she uses recipes as a starting point and makes them her own.  She has recipes that use flour mixes, incorporating them into non-gluten recipes, something that I have always feared trying, and shares her family’s gluten-free travelling experiences.  You can also find  the Top 10 GF Favourites of Wendy and her two children, a page that has become a quick reference for me.  I always see different gluten-free items on the market or receives messages from friends and family, but because of my experiences with some horrible GF products during my first months gluten-free I have been very leary of trying new things.  I am much more willing to try products out if I hear from others on a gluten-free diet.

As usual, I had a hard time deciding what I was going to make because all of the recipes sounded and looked so good.  In fact, I have a recipe file full of bookmarked recipes to try and sadly I had to add some more from Celiacs in the House collection.  The first recipe that I made was Tamale Pie.  I had a freezer full of ground turkey that I needed to use and this recipe was perfect, particulary as I have been craving food with mexican flavours and as soon as I saw the word adobo in the recipe, I knew that I couldn’t pass this recipe up.  Yum!  My fiance and I love it.  In fact, I didn’t get too much because it quickly became my fiance’s work dinners.  I have officially added this recipe to our work meal collection.  It kept well in the fridge (for the few days that it lasted).  Please note that I just used my own pie crust recipe for the base.

I also made the Asparagus and Prosciutto Quiche, but with a mashed potato crust.  I also used coconut milk in place of the heavy cream just because I had it on hand and we rarely ever use dairy milk.  This was perfect as I always make a vegetarian quiche but my fiance has been asking for a quiche with some meat in it.  I saw this and realized that it met the necessary requirements – meat and asparagus, one of J.’s favourite vegetables.  It was a hit and I have second on cut up in the freezer for meals in a pinch.

Sadly, because I goofed on my deadline, I haven’t had a chance to try the pumpkin muffin tops with cheesecake filling or the kale pesto and feta shells, but I will have to add them in later.

Categories: Adopt a GF Blogger
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

