Home > Adopt a GF Blogger > Adopt a GF Blogger: Simply Sugar & Gluten-Free

Adopt a GF Blogger: Simply Sugar & Gluten-Free

I am writing this a little late for a few reasons.  The main one being that I have not been feeling well these past few days.  Another one being that I do not feel that I have done justice to Amy of Simply Sugar & Gluten-Free.

Simply Sugar & Gluten-Free is a wonderful site that I discovered this past summer.  There are so many reasons to add Amy’s blog to your favourites:

  • Informative articles for those who are looking for sugar alternatives or or how to choose your gluten-free flours to create your own blends
  • Resource list of items that Amy uses herself
  • Delicious recipes that are sugar- and gluten-free

These are only a few things that I love!  Amy also shares her story for choosing a sugar and gluten-free diet as well as many other stories about her life (her dogs, schooling…) and, right now, her joy with the upcoming release of her cookbook – Simply Sugar & Gluten-Free Meals in 20 Minutes.

I, for one, can’t wait for this book to come out!  I have already added it to the top of my wishlist (although, I’ll probably buy it as soon as I see it!). 

However, going back to my Adopt A GF Blogger plan, I adopted Simply Sugar & Gluten-Free because there are so many recipes that I have been dying to try out!  They all look and sound so lovely.  Sadly, I didn’t get around to trying out any of her desserts, but my dogs did get to check out her Pumpkin Dog Biscuits and I think that it’s safe to say that they loved them  (they’re really big as I didn’t have any smaller cookie cutters – but I do now!).  I have one dog in particular who is probably the worst food critic and she was looking for more!  The best part is tha tthese biscuits were quick and easy to make.  This is a recipe that will be made over and over again.

I also made Amy’s Perfect Gluten-Free Bread, but I have yet to find Bob’s Red Mill garfava flour and didn’t have any garbanzo flour to substitute with, so I ended up replacing it Bob Red Mill’s All-Purpose Baking Flour which is bean-based.  I, personally, found the bread to have a bit of a strong bean taste, but I am pretty sure this is because of my substitution.  Otherwise, this bread rose fabulously (I’ve never had a loaf of bread rise so well) and it was moist!  I could cut the bread and only had to clean up a few crumbs –  no crumbly chunks falling off of this loaf.  Great for sandwiches.  I will definitely be trying this recipe again as soon as I find the flour that it’s suppose to use.

I also made Amy’s yummy Garden Turkey Burgers with Buttermilk Ranch Dressing.  These were even a hit with my fiance’s son who is very particular about his food.  He was very excited when I told him that I was making these again this past weekend.  This recipe is incredibly quick and easy!  It was the perfect meal because I was able to whip it up in no time with my back spasms and all.  I have made these twice now and both times they have been gobbled up before I could get a picture (I think that there may be a couple leftover in the fridge though, so I’ll have to snap a quick pic before they’re eaten later today).  The second batch we made (the picture) had melted cheese on them.  Sadly, I was missing the buttermilk ranch dressing the second time around too.  They tasted so good with that dressing on them…yum!

I thoroughly enjoyed every recipe of Amy’s.  My family thoroughly enjoyed ever recipe.  And I still have a list of recipes that I will be trying in the future, such as her homemade ketchup.  As usual, this was very fun and successful Adopt a GF Blogger (January 2011)!

Categories: Adopt a GF Blogger
  1. sea
    February 7, 2011 at 11:31 pm

    Wonderful! I’m so glad you were able to finish your adoption post and that you enjoyed the recipes.

    Also, I hear that you are hosting this week’s gluten-free menu swap. Here’s my menu!

    http://www.bookofyum.com/blog/vegan-dairy-free-soy-free-chocolate-frosting-recipe-and-gf-menu-6125.html

    Thank you for hosting!

    -Sea

  2. February 8, 2011 at 1:46 am

    Hi Michelle, am looking for your email address to send you my link for my g-free Monday menu swap post for today – but can’t find it… Here is my link: http://gfreemom.com/2011/monday-menu-plan-february-7-good-sources-vitamin/

    Please let me know if you need anything else from me. Thanks!

    Nicola

  3. February 8, 2011 at 2:25 am

    Can’t wait to see Amy’s new book. Are you hosting the GF Swap today?

    • February 8, 2011 at 2:36 am

      Hi Wendy, I most certainly am hosting, just running a little behind today! It’ll be up in minutes! Thanks for joining!

  4. February 8, 2011 at 11:36 pm

    I’ve been trying so hard to find a good-rising GF bread these past couple months. I think my local market has Bob’s garfava, so I’m looking forward to trying Amy’s this weekend. Thanks!

  5. February 9, 2011 at 8:22 pm

    Thanks so much for adopting me!! I am totally honored, Michelle!!

    About the Bob’s All Purpose Mix – I have never used it BUT many of my friends and cooking class students said that they have had the same experience that you did with the beany taste. I bought a bag to test it out but lost the motivation to follow through because everyone says it has a funky flavor. I **love** Bob’s so I hate to say anything bad about their products – still, everything I’ve heard about the All-Purpose mix is a no-go.

    But when the same people have had my bread or cookies made with garbazno-fava bena flour they are amazed at how good it tastes – no bean flavor at all! So, I do think it’s the All-Purpose mix.

    Your bread looks fabulous, though. 🙂

    Love those turkey burgers, too.

    Hugs!! And thanks again for such a lovely review!

    Amy

    • February 9, 2011 at 9:54 pm

      Hi Amy,

      I completely agree that it was most likely the flour mix. I am on the search for the garbanzo-fava mix. It’s on my list for when I go to Bellingham next.

      Thanks for sharing all of your wonderful recipes!

  1. February 21, 2011 at 3:00 am

Leave a Reply

