Home > Menu Swap > Menu Swap – Peaches

Menu Swap – Peaches

Well, it’s that time of week again.  Sadly, the sun is gone and the rain has arrived here in Vancouver.  I love the rain, but I could have gone for just a little bit more sun for this weekend.  Oh well, I guess it doesn’t matter too much since I’m actually going to work once this post is up and running (with some breaks over here to add all of the menu plans as they come in).

The Gluten-Free Menu Swap (aka Menu Plan Monday) was started up by Gluten Free Mommy, however, the headquarters are currently over at Gluten Free Goodness‘s site if anyone’s interested in joining.  I am the host for this week, taking it on because I figured that most people would be busy returning from their last summer bash or getting their children ready for the first day of school… we didn’t go away this weekend due to my boyfriend’s son having Hockey Evaluations on Saturday and then a family birthday party yesterday.  We decided to skip the rush and go away this upcoming weekend, especially since it’s my boyfriend’s birthday.  Hopefully the weather will be kind to us and send us some sun for so that we can go camping.  If not, I guess we’ll just head down to the States and do some shopping.

With all of that said, let’s get on with the whole reason for this post…the Menu Plan!  I have chosen peaches for this week’s ingredient in hopes of making a yummy peach pie, but I have a funny feeling that I won’t be getting around to that.  In fact, looking at my menu, I am thinking that my theme ingredient should have been chicken!  There will be a lot of chicken this week, not too sure why, but that’s how it worked out.

GF Menu Swap – September 6 – 11

Lunches

 Snacks

  • Veggies & Dip
  • Fruit
  • Chips & Peach Salsa

To Make:

  • Peach Pie (hopefully)
  • Peach scones

 Sunday (Family Dinner) – Chicken, potatoes & quinoa salad (prepped earlier to take with me)

Monday – Curry Chicken with green salad and quinoa salad (recipe to follow)

Tuesday – Fish & Chips (didn’t get this last week)

Wednesday (Saladmaster Dinner Party) – Fried Chicken, garlic potatoes, veggies & salad

Thursday (hopefully camping) – Steaks, corn on the cob & salad

Friday (camping & Jarrod’s Birthday) – Honey Garlic Chicken wings & salad

Saturday (return from camping?) – BBQ at my Dad’s

This week, the Lilac Kitchen is making up her Pork with peaches & black bean salsa again because it was so good last week.  She’s also planning on making up some cheese biscuits, which I have made before and they are wonderful!

Gluten Free Goodness has suggested that I make up a peach crisp rather than a pie, and I think that I just may have to do that!  She has her own peach crisp plans and maybe some fig preserves.

Celiac Family is transitioning their way Back to School with some classic recipes like pigs in a blanket and parmesan chicken nuggets.  Heather has also been working hard to get her kids ready for a gluten-free school year with an important packet about Celiac Disease.

Categories: Menu Swap
  1. September 6, 2010 at 10:18 pm

    Hi Michelle,
    If you don’t have time for a peach pie, what about a crisp? I ended up making one last minute since my DH has been such a sweetie…and your peach salsa sounds delicious.
    Mine’s up http://www.gfgoodness.com/2010/09/06/peaches-menu-plan-monday/

  2. September 7, 2010 at 3:13 am

    Thanks for hosting this week. Sounds like you’ve got a tasty week ahead of you. Curry chicken and Fish and Chips? Yum, yum, yum.

    Wasn’t sure where to email my menu link, so I’ll leave it here: http://celiacfamily.com/menu-plan-september-6/

  1. September 7, 2010 at 5:26 pm

Leave a comment