Home > Gluten-Free, Menu Swap > Gluten-Free Menu Swap: Winter Veggies

Gluten-Free Menu Swap: Winter Veggies

I am going to make this incredibly short and sweet.  This week’s menu is being hosted by Wendy over at Celiacs in the House and she has chosen winter vegetables for our ingredient – yum!  I had to look up winter vegetables simply because I had no idea what vegetables are considered winter!  That’s rather embarrassing, but when I asked around I discovered that I wasn’t alone, which is why I googled it and found this wonderful site – Healthy Winter Foods –  filled with some valuable information.

To plan for this week I pulled out a bunch of different cookbooks that I have and flipped through them (I really couldn’t do anything else as I, literally, had no choice but to lie on the floor with my legs on a chair most of Saturday due to severe back spasms – what better way to spend the day than flipping through cook books and dreaming about yummy food?!).  I must say that it was rather inspiring as these were cookbooks that I haven’t really used in the last while because they are not gluten-free.  It was nice to realize that I have grown in my gluten-free diet and could make most of the recipes gluten-free.

SUNDAY – Pot Roast (my fiance loved this so much last week that he wanted to have it again this week) with baked beets

MONDAY – Beef/French Dip with oriental green beans (Foods that Heal)

TUESDAY – Warm (winter) vegetable salad with peanut sauce (Foods that Heal)

WEDNESDAY – Enchiladas con Calabacitas (Rebar) with avocado salsa & green salad

THURSDAY – Leftovers

FRIDAYTurkey Burgers with Buttermilk Ranch Dressing & green salad

 SATURDAY – Perogies

 

SOUP OF THE WEEK:  Split Pea with Ham (unable to make this last week)

  


Categories: Gluten-Free, Menu Swap
  1. January 17, 2011 at 8:59 pm

    foods that heal looks like a great book!
    have a fun week.

    • January 18, 2011 at 8:52 am

      I’ll let you know. I bought it years ago and totally forgot all about it until I went in search of some cooking inspiration.

  2. January 18, 2011 at 4:50 am

    Sorry about the back spasms, but know what you mean about the joy and pleasure of browsing through cookbooks and knowing that it doesn’t matter if they are GF anymore. Doesn’t it feel great to know you can easily adapt and pick and choose from all kinds of resources and cookbooks?

    • January 18, 2011 at 8:51 am

      Thanks again for hosting! In all honesty, it was going through some of my old, but favourite recipes that kept my spirits up. It is great knowing that I can make those recipes again!

  3. January 18, 2011 at 6:24 am

    Much sympathy for your back pain! I just started seeing a new chiropractor and hoping he can help with my neck and back.

    • January 18, 2011 at 8:50 am

      Thanks Kristen! I’ll cross my fingers for you with the new chiropractor.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

