Home > Menu Swap > Gluten-Free Menu Swap: soups

Gluten-Free Menu Swap: soups

I hope that everyone had a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!  I have been AWOL for a little while due to illness and trying to get back on track with my recovery.  I haven’t been doing too much in the kitchen since my accident, leaving most of those duties to my fiance, but I am slowly getting mobility and strength back.

This week’s swap is hosted by Gluten-Free Goodness, who has chosen soups as our “ingredient.”  Personally, I couldn’t think of a better choice.  It has been super cold in the Lower Mainland these past couple of weeks and this week doesn’t look to be too much warmer.  I am a hug soup fan and try to make one once a week because I find it best for lunches!  My absolute favourite soup is Hearty Millet, but we also enjoy my Aunt Barb’s Hamburger soup for a quick dinner too (recipe to follow in a few minutes).  Like Cheryl, our household enjoys homemade turkey soup.  In fact, I think that’s the only reason that we cook up a turkey; I am not a turkey fan per se, but I love turkey soup!

This week will be a quiet one for me.  I have physiotherapy every other day this week and had a difficult weekend with neck spasms, so I will be focusing on keeping that at bay with my stretches and ball exercises.  They are also calling for snow out here.  Considering what happened during our last snow fall, I think that I’ll stay inside and watch it from a nice cozy chair, curled up with a couple of cats.

MENU:

SUNDAY – Seafood Lasagna

MONDAY – Beef/French Dip (have leftover pot roast that needs to be eaten)

TUESDAY – Deli Meats & Veggies with Leftovers: beef dip sandwiches, lasagna

WEDNESDAY – Chicken Delight (You Are What You Eat) & quinoa salad with greens

THURSDAY – Hot Chicken Salad or Chicken Lettuce Wraps

FRIDAYRice Wraps with Ginger Peanut Sauce & Green Salad

SATURDAY

SOUP OF THE WEEK:  Split Pea with Ham

LUNCHES:

  • Split Pea Soup
  • Quinoa Porridge
  • Seafood Lasagna
  • Spaghetti with Pesto
  • Rice Wraps

 SNACKIES:

  • Cracklebred with Tzatziki
  • Blueberry Banana Muffins
  • Cherry Tomatoes with Fresh Kalamata & Green Olives
  • Chips & Salsa
Categories: Menu Swap
  1. January 11, 2011 at 8:21 am

    Michelle,
    I hope you feel better very soon! Cats, snuggles and blankets are truly life’s best medicine (and soup, don’t forget soup!) The millet soup/stew sounds lovely.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

