Home > Gluten-Free, Snack > Sweet Lime Hummus

Sweet Lime Hummus

Snack food is badly needed in my household.  We have spent this past week munching away on nuts and those can only go so far.  Sadly, I did not plan last weeks snacks very well and I did not get a chance to make too much of what I had wanted to.  This week will be much better…I hope.

Anyways, in order help us out I decided to make up some of my Roasted Garlic Hummus.  Unfortunately, I used up all of our lemons this past week making my hot lemon tea, so I only had limes left.  Hmmmm….  A couple of summers ago one of the stands at a farmers market had these amazingly yummy hummuses for sale.  The only problem was that they were $8 for one tiny container.  A few of us went for the deal they had, 3 for $15, just so that we could break the recipe.  We never did break the recipe, but only because you can’t break a hummus recipe without a really good base, which we didn’t have…until now.

Now I have a great hummus recipe AND I have a recipe that tastes almost as good as the one that I remember, just with a little bit of my style.  One of the great things about hummus is that it is really quick and easy to make.  You can even roast the garlic ahead of time and use it later when you have a few minutes.  Also, I have always found that when making hummus the amount of olive oil tends to vary.  With this recipe I threw in a chunk of fresh zucchini (I snagged this from a RAW hummus recipe that uses zucchini instead of beans) to see if it would add some moisture and it did that perfectly!  That zucchini left me with a hummus that is nice and creamy.

SWEET LIME HUMMUS

2-1/2 cups chickpeas (1-19 oz. can)

3 Tbsp. EVOO

¼ cup lime juice (about 1 lime)

1 tsp. lime zest

1/4 cup chopped zucchini

2-1/2 tsp. cumin

1/4 tsp. cayenne

1 Tbsp. honey

1 large bulb of roasted garlic

1/2 tsp. taco seasoning

Pour the chickpeas into the food processor and process them up.  Add the rest of the ingredients and process again until everything is mixed together and is smooth and creamy.

Serve with your favourite crackers or chips.  I really like them with Mary’s Gone Crackers as well as some veggies (celery, carrots, cucumber). 

*Picture to follow…I just need to charge my camera up!

Categories: Gluten-Free, Snack
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

