Home > Gluten-Free, Menu Swap > Gluten-Free Menu Swap – brussel sprouts

Gluten-Free Menu Swap – brussel sprouts

*Sigh*

Another week is here.  The host for this week is Celiacs in the House and she has chosen brussel sprouts for our ingredient.  You would think that I would have that on the menu considering I will be finishing this week off with Thanksgiving, but I don’t.  I’m not a big brussel sprouts fan, but I will make a point of grabbing some in honour of  Celiacs in the House…maybe I’ll add them into my shrimp dumpling filling.

Brussel sprouts are a good source of vitamins K and C and also have phytonutrients that help our bodies’ immune system fight against diseases, including cancer.  I guess I had better start eating some more of these suckers as they also have many more good things that we need .

I have to admit, my menu for this week has been chosen more for ease than nutrition, but I promise that next week’s will be better.

MENU PLAN – October 3-9

SUNDAY – Mac & Cheese

MONDAY – Chinese Homestyle Rice (based on GF Gobsmacked)

TUESDAY – Halibut with green veggies (asparagus & brussels?)

WEDNESDAY – Burgers & Fries

THURSDAY – Teriyaki Stirfry

FRIDAY – Shrimp Dumplings with Green Salad

SATURDAY – OrganicLive

LUNCHES:

  • Split Pea Soup
  • Quinoa Salad
  • Tuna Casserole
  • Cucumber sandwich
  • Bagel topped with cucumbers & tomatoes

 SNACKS:

  • Mighty Tasty Muffins
  • Pumpkin Seed Bread
  • Applesauce

SOUP OF THE WEEK:  Split Pea (didn’t get to this last week, but the peas are soaking as I type)

Categories: Gluten-Free, Menu Swap
  1. October 6, 2010 at 12:54 am

    Looks like a great week. I’m curious what you do for the shrimp dumplings. Sounds yummy.

    • October 7, 2010 at 8:48 am

      I haven’t made them yet, but I saw a picture and I’m dying for some. My plan was to use GF Gobsmacked’s potsticker wraps, but steam them. I was going to try that as well as rice wraps and see what worked.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

