Home > Gluten-Free, Saladmaster > Gluten Free Beef Dip

Gluten Free Beef Dip

Well, I wasn’t planning on writing anything before I had gathered the information previously mentioned, but I can’t resist.  Yesterday I woke up tired from staying up late making GF Mommy’s Whole Beer Bread and getting things together to make cabbage rolls for this upcoming weeks’ lunches.  My boyfriend suggested that we drive out to New Westminster to pick up our favourite GF bread for our beef dip dinner plan.  So, after cleaning things up and getting myself together, we headed out.

Well, not only did we find our Potato Onion bread (which boyfriend had placed on hold before we left), but we also discovered that the lonely brownie sitting out was also gluten-free as was the Olive Cheese bread. I could not resist the brownie and Boyfriend could not resist grabbing a loaf of the Olive Cheese bread.  Instead of grabbing 1 loaf of bread, we walked out of the bakery with 2 loaves of bread and a brownie, all for the price of $14. Not bad for a GF purchase (I should also add that their bread is more than worth the $5 because it is a full size loaf of bread that is very moist)

As soon as we walked out of the store, which took awhile having discovered more new GF stock, I grabbed the brownie from the bag that Boyfriend was carrying.

I took the first bite.

Heaven…

Pure chocolaty heaven.

Ladies, this is something that only you could understand, especially if you have had your own affair with chocolate.  That one bite of brownie was melt-in-your-mouth perfection and it was gluten-free.  At that very moment, I had all the evidence that one needs to prove that gluten-free does not mean the end of the chocolate affair, and Boyfriend was carrying the evidence that delicious gluten-free bread really does exist.

The brownie was gone before we even left the parking lot and the Olive Cheese bread was, well ,let’s just say that there was enough left for one sandwich…maybe.

 And that was only the beginning.

Boyfriend’s brother and fiancée came over for dinner last night and rather than barbecue organic bison steaks (and organic chicken for me), we made Beef Dip.  Using our Saladmaster cookware, we roasted 2 lbs. of beef in the 5 qt. pot on the stove top with garlic and onions.  The jus that from the roast for our dip was beautiful!  Did I mention that this roast was roasted without oil or water?  No, well let me tell you that now; Boyfriend and I used no water or oil to cook our roast AND STILL had over 3 cups of jus to use in our dip.  Sadly, I have no pictures of all that jus because I had to run out quickly to buy some broth for our dip as we goofed and grabbed one that was not GF; thus, by the time I got back everything was ready to go and we were all starving!  Boyfriend grabbed the meat and cut it up while I made the dipping jus (recipe below).

 That Beef Dip was better than I remember, although, I don’t think I really have anything to compare it to since I use to love Arby’s Beef Dips as a kid.  I don’t think I ever had anything else considering I was vegetarian for my teen years and early 20s, but that’s beside the point.  This was one damn good Beef Dip that we all enjoyed.  Next time, we need to buy a bigger roast and at least one more loaf of bread because there wasn’t enough for seconds and most certainly not for leftovers!  I am drooling as I sit here typing this just remembering that wonderful meal.  And that wasn’t the end of dinner either; we still had the Decadent Chocolate Cherry Jubilee cake to eat (recipe compliments of the Port Kells Saladmaster team)!

Boyfriend and I are so excited to have found our Beef Dip again and we will definitely be making this again.  However, Boyfriend would prefer a different jus dip for next time, but that’s easy to fix.  I actually used part of the French Onion Soup recipe from Carol Fenster’s 1,000 Gluten Free Recipes, which calls for some vinegar.  I didn’t mind it, but Boyfriend did and I think that I’ll use the leftover jus to make soup for the week.

BEEF ROAST

2 lb. Roast Beef

6 yellow Onions (cone #2)

1 bulb of Garlic (cone #1)

Preheat your 5 Qt. pot on the medium setting for your stove.  Do the water test.  When it is preheated, sear the roast (with the lid on) on each side for about 5-10 minutes until all sides have been seared.  While the meat is searing, use your Saladmaster Salad cutter (or a knife and grater/garlic press) to cut the garlic and onions.  Add the garlic and onions to the pot (and any other vegetables, potatoes & carrots, that you would like) and leave the knob at medium.  When the valve starts to click, turn the temperature down to low and let cook on low heat for about 30 minutes, depending on how you like your meat (I like mine medium rare).

Pull out the beef and any vegetables, other than the onion and garlic slices, and slice the meat VERY THIN.

JUS

Jus from the roast

6 yellow onions, leftover from roast

1 bulb of garlic, leftover from the roast

1 tsp. Honey (optional)

1 tsp. Black Pepper

1 tsp. Salt

¼ cup Red Wine Vinegar

900 mL Vegetable Broth carton (I used Campbell’s as it is gluten free, but if you have your own broth or know of one that is GF than use that)

Pour beef jus into a blender with the onion and garlic and add 1 cup of the broth.  Blend it all up and pour it back into the pot (same as used for the roast – don’t want to loose those juices or dirty anymore dishes!).  On medium heat, add the rest of the broth and ingredients.  Stir.  Cover and leave for 10 minutes (turn the temperature down if using Saldamaster and it starts to click).

Pour into a gravy boat.

BEEF DIP

Thin slices of Roast Beef

Roast Beef Jus

1-2 loaves of your favourite GF Bread

Buttery spread (optional)

Mustard (optional)

 Slice the bread however you want it and toast it.  Spread butter or mustard, or whatever you like, on bread slices.  Add beef slices on 1 slice of bread and make a sandwich.  Pour Jus into a bowl and dip at will.

ENJOY!

PS – more information on Saladmaster to follow, but I will say that I absolutely love my set!!!

Categories: Gluten-Free, Saladmaster
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

