Home > Uncategorized > Gluten-Free Pizza

Gluten-Free Pizza

OMG! I think that I have finally had the best GF pizza ever!!! Sadly, it was so good that I was unable to get a picture of the COOKED pizza, just the product before it went into the oven.

I am not a really big fan of pizza and, in fact, I usually prefer eating it the next day (gross to some, but also very true). Anyway, I do get the odd craving for pizza but it has to be homemade because the only GF pizza place in the Lower Mainland (that I am aware of) and is a good 1-2 hours drive away. Thus, I have been playing around with different crust recipes and have to say that the best recipe is Washburn & Butt’s Tomato Basil Drop Biscuit recipe (found in 125 Best Gluten-Free Recipes). I simply doubled the recipe last night (because it dinner for my boyfriend, his son, and myself) and then roll it onto a cookie sheet. Then I bake it for about 15 minutes (this helps to keep it from getting too soggy when covered with toppings) and load it up with toppings. I have also found that it is best to put the cheese on last because it holds everything in place – very important as I LOVE lots of pizza toppings!

Last night’s pizza toppings included:
finely chopped yellow and orange peppers
1/2 an onion
Trader Joe’s Marinara Sauce (beware, this may contain gluten)
chopped mushrooms
pineapple slices
Grimm’s GF Pizza Pack (I used the ham only)
Nacho style cheese

Half the pizza was simply sauce, peppers, and cheese for the young one, but the other half was loaded up!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. March 15, 2010 at 3:05 pm

    It is difficult to find a good Gluten Free pizza crust, so it's great that you were able to make your own. For a delicious gluten free pizza sauce, may I suggest Simply Sauce Pizza sauce? It is thick and rich and full of flavor. I think you'd really enjoy it.

  2. March 15, 2010 at 4:47 pm

    I'll have to try that one out, thanks Cindy! I think the real secret to a good pizza crust, well, any GF crust, is to add fresh herbs. Whenever I make a quiche or pie I add the spices that I will be using for the filling.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

