Home > Menu Swap > Menu Swap – Quinoa

Menu Swap – Quinoa

I am hosting this week’s menu swap and have chosen Quinoa for my ingredient. Now that I think about it, I think that I choose that one regularly; I simply love quinoa.

A common misconception of quinoa is that it is a grain. In actual fact, it is an amino-acid rich seed that is related to those tasty leafy greens that we all love so much (or try to love). In its uncooked form, quinoa is loaded with manganese, magnesium, iron, tryptophan, copper, and phosophorus. Because of its magnesium content, quinoa can be beneficial for those who suffer from migraine headaches. Magnesium is known for relaxing the blood vessels, which in turn, prevents the dilation that is common in migraines. Riboflavin, aka vitamin B2, is also found in quinoa; this increases the metabolism within the brain and muscles cells, also assisting in the prevention of migraine headaches.

Another health benefit of quinoa is its antioxidant protection. Both manganese and copper are cofactors of an antioxidant that protects the mitochondria from oxidative damage. Cardiovascular health can be included in this beneficial category too, going back to the magnesium content which relaxes blood vessels and decreases hypertension. One final added bonus is the lysine content; lysine is essential for tissue growth and repair.

However, when we cook quinoa we do loose a fair amount of the nutritional value and I have to say that I am very guilty of that. A great way to eat quinoa in its RAW, natural form is to sprout it. I have used sprouted quinoa in place of bulgur to make tabouli or sprinkled over my salads; I love sprouted it! There are also recipes for RAW energy bars that can easily be made with this added treat mixed in for some added crunch, wrapped up individually, and stored in the fridge. This is great for an on-the-go snack and much healthier than those found in stores (sorry, but the sugar content in some of those things is very disturbing to me – although I do keep those ones in mind for emergencies). I do love larabars, but I find them to be really sweet, so one will last me about a week. Much better to make my own. There use to be a great RAW energy bar recipe posted, but I can’t seem to find it; I’ll keep looking. For now, that’s my RAW foods spiel.

Again, I have another busy week ahead of me with work, training for my new job, and my student-teaching practicum (I haven’t even included the homework into this schedule for fear of having a nervous break down at the site of it). This is also the last week of summer. Again, I am hosting this week’s menu swap, so if you have a menu to share, leave me the website and I’ll share it with everyone, with a link back to your site. Many thanks to our Temporary Headquarters of the Menu Swap, Cheryl over at Gluten Free Goodness for her wonderful organization.

My Menu: TBA (ooops! I am still waiting on RAW foods portions)
Sunday
Breakfast – Creamy Blueberry Banana Smoothie
Lunch – Turkey Wrap & Dill Borscht
Dinner – Garlic Cod over Green Salad (sprouted quinoa sprinkled over top)
Monday
Breakfast – Fresh Orange Juice & Fruit
Lunch – Quinoa & Black Bean Salad
Dinner – RAW Red Chard Slaw with Asian Pear & Cashew Dressing

Tuesday (early AM meeting & student-teaching day)
Breakfast – Fresh Orange Juice & Fruit
Lunch – leftover RAW Chard Slaw (if there is any) & a RAW veggie wrap
Dinner – Quinoa & Black Bean Salad over green salad

Wednesday
Breakfast – Fresh Orange Juice & Fruit
Lunch – Veggie Wrap
Dinner – Quinoa & Grape Salad (RAW FOOD REAL WORLD)

Thursday
Breakfast – Blueberry Peach Smoothie
Lunch – Quinoa & Grape Salad

Dinner –

Friday
Breakfast – Blueberry Nectarine Smoothie
Lunch –
Dinner –

Saturday
Breakfast – Blueberry Banana Smoothie
Lunch –
Dinner –

I hope that everyone has a great week!
Kimberly over at Gluten-Free is Life also enjoys quinoa and mentions that she has made veggie burgers with it. Her menu also has another one of my favourites… squash, which sounds like it will be filled with a delicious stuffing. Enjoy your “date” this weekend!
Book of Yum has a beautiful picture of herself and 2 month old “Baby Yum” along with a tasty sounding dairy-free spinach pie recipe. She is also planning on using cashew in place of ricotta cheese, which sounds delish!
Gluten-Free in Salt Lake City joins us this week with a great sounding menu. She is craving fruit this week and planning on inventing a zucchini “lasagna” (a great idea – I did this back in August and it was fabulous!); keep your eyes out for the recipe.
WendyGK is trying out a new crust recipe from a GF cookbook this week and has a pizza night planned – mmmm, pizza night. Check out Celiac’s In the House to see some pictures from this past weekend.
Angela’s Kitchen is busy this week, but she will still be in her kitchen cooking up some delicious meals. She will be in her garden picking lots of fresh veggies for her stirfry over quinoa this week; something that I should really think about doing.
Manda, over at Asparagus Thin, has posted some very interesting finds; particularly one regarding iPhones and the Glutenfreepassport. I shall also add Manda to my growing list of quinoa lovers and must commend her new attempts in the RAW foods world. Goodluck with your teaching this week and in the baking contest!
Check out Heather over at Celiac Family. Not only has she posted her menu, but she has also added little notes about her preparation. There’s also a link to Indian Quinoa that sounds really good – Yum!
Green V-Neck joins us this week with a vegan menu that sound tasty. Deb has a couple of my favourites on the menu such as sweet potato fries and lentils. I would love to hear more about the coconut chutney as I have become addicted to coconut lately.
Gluten Free Goodness has a week with out her DH and is excited for the quinoa ingredient. Cheryl has been intent on making a challah for Rosh Hashana and has a new post for a flourless chocolate torte that definitely needs to be checked out; it’s gluten-, dairy-, and sugar free.
Categories: Menu Swap
  1. September 13, 2009 at 11:03 pm

    Great looking menu! The quinoa & grape salad looks interesting!Here is my menu for the week:http://glutenfreeislife.wordpress.com/2009/09/13/weekly-menu-plan-september-13-2009/Thanks for hosting!!

  2. Sea
    September 14, 2009 at 1:33 am

    Ok- let's try this again. hehe, sorry about the mixup last week, not sure what happened. Anyway, here's my menu:http://www.bookofyum.com/blog/gluten-free-menu-swap-casein-and-soy-free-almond-coconut-milk-spinach-pie-recipe-4108.htmlLove the theme and thanks for hosting!-Sea

  3. September 14, 2009 at 5:39 am

    Hi!I'd like to participate this week. Here's my menu. http://glutenfreeinslc.blogspot.com/2009/09/gluten-free-menu-plan-of-week-september.htmlI'm loving the idea of sprouted quinoa…I guess I just hesitate because my kitchen is so dark, but maybe that doesn't matter. I love sprouts, though!

  4. September 14, 2009 at 10:33 am

    Hi MichelleMy menu is posted http://tinyurl.com/lb6qmy.I've never tried sprouting quinoa. It sounds like it would be great. I do love quinoa and black beans together. Thanks for hosting this week.

  5. September 14, 2009 at 2:12 pm

    Thank you so much for hosting. I haven't tried sprouting quinoa. I am going to need to try this this week after our broccoli sprout crop is eaten up. Thanks for the inspiration.My post is up: http://angelaskitchen.wordpress.com/2009/09/14/menu-plan-monday-september-14-2009/

  6. September 14, 2009 at 2:49 pm

    Hi M! Here's my menu for the swap of the week. Thanks for hosting; awesome ingredient choice as it is one of my favorites~!http://www.asparagusthin.com/2009/09/menu-swap-september-14th.html

  7. September 14, 2009 at 3:01 pm

    Wow. Lots of good information about quinoa! Thanks for hosting this week. I'm looking forward to trying your quinoa and black beans salad. Here is my menu plan: http://celiacfamily.com/menu-plan-sept-14/

  8. Deb
    September 14, 2009 at 3:18 pm

    I'm not cooking quinoa this week, but I'd love to be in on the GF menu swap. My menu is also vegan and can be found at http://greenvneck.blogspot.com/2009/09/menu-plan-monday_13.html.

  9. September 14, 2009 at 6:24 pm

    that looks just incredible, and thanks for the quinoa info!

  10. November 30, 2009 at 9:32 am

    I'm appreciate your writing skill.Please keep on working hard.^^

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

