Home > Menu Swap > Menu Swap – September 7, 2009

Menu Swap – September 7, 2009

Aaaahhhhhh, back to life I guess. It has been a wonderful 4 weeks of doing whatever I felt like with very little cooking or baking involved. However, my summer break is over and I must return to school & work, plus get ready to start my new part-time job.

I have spent the past 2 weeks trying to eat a diet that is 90% RAW Living foods; I was successful the first week, but last week, well, I didn’t do quite as well as the first. I did, however, discover a delicious salad dressing which really isn’t a dressing at all. For the past few months my mom has been putting EVOO on her salads with a splash of GF soy sauce (San-J brand) and cayenne pepper. I finally broke down and tried it; it was delicious! We’ve also been adding some cod fillets into the mix (that’s been my filler). We also went out to Milestones Restaurant for dinner one night and each of us had phenomenal salads that were jam packed with some tasty treats… and they were GF! The manager himself discussed the options that were available and was the liason between our table and the kitchen. I will definitely be adding that restaurant to my short list of places to go (my mom had the California Spring Salad sans the pecans and I had the Grilled Seafood Salad with fresh fish – no marinades).

That’s only a touch of my RAW adventures, but really, that’s not why I’m here. As I said, I am returning to my busy schedule and I am intent on maintaining a regular menu for this semester. The past 2 semesters have been so hectic with work and school that my healthy eating habits dropped, and I’m not too happy about that. Of course, this week’s menu leaves a lot to be desired, but I am only getting back into the swing of things. I’ll have to work on it.

This week’s Menu Swap is being hosted by Manda over at Asparagus Thin. She has chosen cassava (or yucca) as her ingredient since she has a bunch in her freezer. This is a root vegetable that is more commonly known as tapioca. Tapioca flour/starch is a common ingredient in GF baking, and it is this root that is ground up to produce one of my baking staples. There is so much more that you can read about, over at Asparagus Thin, regarding this interesting root vegetable, and I have to thank Manda for choosing it because I had no idea where my tapioca flour/starch came from. I think that I would also love to move into Manda’s for the week too – her menu sounds delightful!

For this week, I will not be focused on eating RAW Living foods, but they will definitely be making an appearance. Sadly, there will be no raw cassava as it must be cooked prior to ingestion. I have never noticed this vegetable, but I will be keeping my eyes out for it. For now I’ll just have to settle for using it as a flour/starch in my baking.

MENU – September 7

Monday
Lunch – Starbucks Frappucino (really bad, I know!)
Dinner – Chunky Chili with cheesy peppered cornbread

Tuesday
Breakfast – Peach Blueberry Smoothie & Banana Blueberry Muffin
Lunch – Turkey Wrap
Dinner – Basa fish mixed in a salad

Wednesday
Breakfast – Fresh Orange Juice & Fruit, Banana Blueberry Muffin
Lunch – Turkey Wrap
Dinner – Sushi??? (I have class this night and it’s a potluck)

Thursday
Breakfast – Fresh Orange Juice & Fruit, Cheese Scone & homemade jam
Lunch – Vegetable Wrap
Dinner – Soup & Salad

Friday
Breakfast – Peach Blueberry Smoothie
Lunch – Vegetable Wrap
Dinner – Green Salad with some GF Pasta Salad

Saturday – class today
Breakfast – Fresh Orange Juice & Fruit, Cheese Scone & homemade jam
Lunch – GF Pasta Salad & veggies
Dinner – whatever’s leftover!

Excellent! Don’t forget to check out Asparagus Thin for other menus!

Categories: Menu Swap
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

