Home > Gluten-Free, Herbs, RAW Living > Fresh is Best!

Fresh is Best!

I love the smell of spring, but mostly I love the great selection of fresh fruits, vegetables, and herbs! Last week my mom came home from a friends with some leftover salsa for me. At first glance I wasn’t too impressed as it looked nothing like what you get in the stores, but I couldn’t stop eating it. I decided to replicate it with a few extra touches of my own, it was that good. There’s a great farm market on my way home from work that sells produce grown without sprays for amazing prices, and when I saw their cilantro selection I couldn’t resist. It also helped that they have all peppers on for .75 cents a pound! It was meant to be!!! Also quite fitting as this is the week of Cinco de Mayo, so in honour of that I made sweet pepper salsa and Chunky Chili using all fresh fruits and vegetables (except for the tomato sauce – had to use some kind of sauce).

SWEET PEPPER SALSA

1 sweet yellow pepper
1 sweet orange pepper
1 medium tomato
1/2 a small onion
1/3 cup fresh cilantro
juice of 1/2 a small lime
pinch of salt

Chop the peppers and onions very fine. Chop the tomato and cilantro and add to peppers and onion. Add lime juice and salt. Mix it all together and chill for at least an hour.

Serve with rice crackers, tortilla chips, or RAW bread/crackers (recipe to follow shortly).

This makes a great snack!

Categories: Gluten-Free, Herbs, RAW Living
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

