Home > Menu Swap, RAW Living > Menu Swap – February 9 – 14

Menu Swap – February 9 – 14

“Chocolate is heavenly, mellow, sensual, deep, dark, sumptuous, gratifying, potent, dense, creamy, seductive, suggestive, rich, excessive, silky, smooth, luxurious, celestial. Chocolate is downfall, happiness, pleasure, love, ecstasy, fantasy … chocolate makes us wicked, guilty, sinful, healthy, chic, happy.”

Elaine Sherman

I cannot possibly describe chocolate any better than Elaine Sherman has above. I must admit that I am not exactly a big fan of chocolate, but, once upon a time, I was a choc-a-holic. However, as with many things, the GF diet has shown me that I really don’t care for the taste. But, because this is the week of Valentines, how could I not choose chocolate.

Chocolate has long been used as a gift, after all, it is Theobrama Cacao, food of the Gods, as it’s scientific name implies, and what a better way to say I love you than to give such a gift. I don’t think we have seen such a versatile gift as chocolate. I can’t think of anything that you cannot use a box of chocolates for; congratulations, I’m sorry, or get well soon. The gift of chocolate can be traced back to the Aztecs who prized the cacao bean so highly that they used the beans as currency. However, it was actually the Mayan culture who cultivated the gem as the Aztecs were did not live in an environment conducive to its growth, thus they acquired the beans either through trade or war. The Aztecs even went so far as to have their Emperors collect the cacao beans as taxes. Both the Mayans and the Aztecs enjoyed drinking the chocolate after fermenting the RAW cocoa beans, a drink known as Xocolatl. The Aztec emperor, Montezuma, is well known for drinking Xocolatl golden goblet while repeatedly saying, “The divine drink, which builds up resistance and fights fatigue. A cup of this precious drink permits a man to walk for a whole day without food.” When Emperor Montezuma was defeated in 1519 by the Conquistadors, rather than finding his filled with gold and silver, or other treasures, they found it to be full of cocoa beans!

It was the Conquistadors who began adding sugar and vanilla to Xocolatl, or Chocolate as it is now known as. The first chocolate factories were opened in Spain and eventually led to the exportation through out Europe. However, the Spanish never shared the secret source of the drink until the English buccaneers found a ship loaded with cocoa beans instead of treasures in 1579 and thought they were “dried sheep droppings,” thus they burned the whole ship!!!

I could go on and on. Who would have thought that chocolate would have such a fascinating history?! However, I would rather share some wonderful chocolate recipes with you instead.

RAW Living Chocolate

This is shaping out to be yet another busy week, especially since I have my first day as a Student Teacher this Wednesday and I’m nervous and excited at the same time. I won’t be spending too much time in the kitchen because of this and my zillion assignments. My apologies for posting this so late, I have been in Alberta as my grandmother passed away last week.

GF Menu – February 9-14 *planning on having leftovers and sandwiches for lunch this week

Monday – not too sure yet…

Tuesday – Wild, Wild Rice Salad

Wednesday – RAW Sunburgers wrapped in romaine lettuce leaves

Thursday – Ginger Baked Tofu with Agave Peanut Sauce & green salad

Friday – Rice Wraps with Ginger Peanut Sauce (Trivial Pursuit Night)

Saturday – ??? (I have a full day of class so it depends on how tired I am)

Yummy Treat: Brownies, both RAW and cooked.

This week’s Delicious Menus:

Fresh Ginger has a delicious menu planned for the week, and I have to agree with her on the movie Like Water for Chocolate – a must see with the Spanish subtitles. I am so evious because she has homemade pizza on the menu this week, something that I have been trying to make myself but has yet to work out – I hope that you enjoy your wonderfully planned week!

Asparagus Thin is also having pizza this week and has yet another ethnic selection of meals. She is still excluding Asian food in order to explore other cuisines and is planning on baking a “character” cake, which we will all have to wait and see exactly what that is. I love the chocolate spread picture, very suggestive of the pasts chocolate elixir!

Book of Yum joins us this week with yet another amazing sounding recipe that you’ll have to check out. She and her husband are in Florida until Wednesday, enjoying the sun from the looks of it, but that hasn’t stopped her from planning some wonderful meals with chocolate fondue and fresh fruit for dessert – Enjoy!

The Lilac Kitchen is planning a week of her stocked up freezer as they may be expecting some more snow, thus she doesn’t plan on getting out too much. She has a wonderful picture of last weeks frittata made with her frozen vegetables that you can’t miss!

Cheese cake pops dipped in dark chocolate and heart shaped cupcakes for her family are planned for Angela’s Kitchen this week. She has a menu filled with training walks and some very lovely dinner plans. I especially like Thursday’s plan to have Daddy cook – that is a great idea!

Celiacs in the House is very organized with her notes on when and how she will be starting her meals. However, she has also made a point of keeping pizza night in order to avoid any complaints – good plan. Definitely stop in here to see her Fruit tacos with a chocolate pizzelle taco shell (this is one that I will be trying right away).

HAPPY VALENTINES!

Categories: Menu Swap, RAW Living
  1. March 17, 2009 at 8:02 pm

    Wow. Awesome post! Thanks for it!

  2. March 17, 2009 at 10:06 pm

    Oh my, you’re making me hungry! Great blog, well done. Thanks for linking my blog to yours. I’m going to try one of your recipes.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

