Home > Menu Swap > GF Menu Swap – January 26

GF Menu Swap – January 26

First, I have to thank Asparagus Thin’s Manda, our lovely host this week, for choosing licorice as our flavour of the week. I discovered the wonderful flavours of fennel last winter and have been in love ever since. She has given me the perfect excuse to make my beloved Hearty Millet Soup, and believe me, with the sudden drop in temperature this week, I’m going to need it! I would love to share all of the great things about fennel with you but I don’t think I could sum it up any better than Manda, so I’ll just leave it for this week. (For those of you who are looking for something refreshing, you might be interested in an Orange-Fennel Salad Dressing.)

I’m rather excited about the upcoming weeks. I was at the library the other day and signed out a bunch of cookbooks to try out. I wasn’t too impressed with Shreve Stockton’s Eating Gluten Free initially but after going through it I have found a bunch of recipes that I can’t wait to try out and the same goes for Bette Hagman’s The Gluten-Free Gourmet Cooks Comfort Foods. I already have stickies scattered through out both books. I also have some Rachael Ray books that I thought might help me with some new dinner ideas, so be on the look out in the next few weeks for some of my experiments (my first one will be tomorrow for Tasty Tuesday). I’m also really excited because I will be student teaching in just over 2 weeks and can’t wait (although I’m also shaking in my booties at the thought!).

Well, I guess that about wraps it up. I am currently sitting on the edge of my seat waiting to find out if the weathermen have it right and it really is going to snow, and waiting to find out if my bread creation is a go or a bust…it’s just cooling down now. Okay, I’m about to start rambling now, so, I guess I should take that as my cue to share my crazy menu!

GF Menu Swap – January 26 – 31 (holy cow! is it really the end of January?!)
Monday
Lunch – Amy’s chili (not something I would recommend)
Dinner – Roasted Portabello Mushroom spaghetti

Tasty Tuesday (I promise to post last weeks Tasty Tuesday this week)
Lunch – Cold Noodle Salad (Eating GF by Shreve Stockton)
Dinner – Crispy Pretzel Chicken Nuggets (recipe to follow)

Wednesday (night class)
Lunch – Hearty Millet Soup
Dinner – Cold Noodle Salad (Eating GF by Shreve Stockton)

Thursday
Lunch – Hearty Millet Soup
Dinner – Tofu Cauli Curry (Eating GF by Shreve Stockton)

Friday
Lunch – leftover Tofu Cauli Curry
Dinner – Pizza (I passed this up last week for dinner at my Dad’s)

Baking for the week:
bread
blueberry flax muffins (Complete GF Cookbook)
quinoa raisin cookies

Don’t forget to head over to Asparagus Thin to find out what everyone else is eating this week!
Categories: Menu Swap
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

