Home > Uncategorized > TASTY TUESDAY – Pot Pie

TASTY TUESDAY – Pot Pie

I have to apologize for not posting this sooner, I was beyond exhausted last week and didn’t get a chance. For my first Tasty Tuesday I have decided to make the classic Pot Pie using my favourite pie crust. I tried to make one last summer but it was sadly disappointing. This one however, was more than TASTY, it was DELICIOUS! I used Heather Butt and Donna Washburn’s Chicken Pot Pie filling for my recipe (found in 125 Best Gluten-Free Recipes, Pg. 44) but I was lazy and used a store bought chicken broth instead of making my own and I also added more carrots and onion than they called for.

I think what I really liked about this recipe (aside from the fact that it was great for leftover lunch/dinner) is that the leftover filling (vegetable stew) worked perfectly mixed in with some cooked split peas to make Split Pea soup. I think that I can safely say my pot pie craving has finally been fulfilled.

PIE CRUST
Single Crust:
1 cup basic mix *see below
2 Tbsp. sweet Rice flour
1 tsp. brown sugar
½ tsp. cane sugar
¼ tsp. salt
6 Tbsp. cold butter
1 egg
1 Tbsp. lemon juice
¼ tsp. spice mix (sweet or savoury depending on the pie your making)

Bake accordingly.

*BASIC MIX
1 ½ cups brown rice flour
2/3 cup potato starch
1/3 cup tapioca starch
½ cup sorghum flour

This pie crust is great for anything. Depending on what it is that I’m making the crust for, I add a spice mix that is similar to the one used in the filling to give it some extra taste.

Mix all ingredients together (I use my Kitchen Aid). Once a ball of dough has formed wrap it up in saran and chill for an hour at least (freeze for 20 minutes). When ready, roll dough out for pie, quiche, or tart.

Sorry to say that there are no pictures because the pot pie didn’t last long!

UPDATE:  I have since changed the almond meal/flour to sorghum flour simply because I don’t always have almond meal/flour due to the cost.  Sorghum works perfectly too, so it can be whatever you have on hand.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

