Home > Menu Swap > GF Menu Swap – December 21

GF Menu Swap – December 21

Merry Christmas to all!

I love this time of year, although I must say that this year I am sadly lacking in some Christmas spirit, but I am enjoying the snow and some GF baking – I’m just not too sure who is going to eat all of my Christmas baking. One good thing about GF baking is that you can always freeze it for later, which is probably what I’m going to have to do if the snow keeps up. Late last night my mom and I took the dogs out to the park across the street from us and let them play in the snow. My Husky/Malamute thought it was great, but I think that my German Shepard prefers being inside the house; but at least they got out for a bit and I was able to get some fresh air after a day filled with baking.

I was unable to get any baking done last week because I crashed-not literally, just mentally and physically- after spending the past 3 months on the go. I finally finished my final exam and was left with 1 week of work, so I pretty much needed some down time. It didn’t help that we had snow on Wednesday forcing me to spend 2-3 hours on the road commuting home and between job sites. However, I survived it all, just as many others did. Therefore, my baking spree started yesterday. I baked a lot but at the same time it doesn’t seem like very much.

After talking to my Dad the other day about bringing my own stuffing to bake in the oven next to the turkey, he has decided to use my stuffing to stuff the turkey and is going to bake the non-GF stuffing separately so that I can have some turkey with everyone else. But now the pressure is on for my stuffing to taste good, so I had a test run last night and can safely say that with a few changes, the stuffing should be delicious. This year I am using Washburn and Butt’s Poultry Stuffing Bread which works like a charm. Unfortunately for me I used the whole loaf of bread rather then half, so now I have a lot of leftovers which I plan on adding to my Popover recipe to make Savoury Pudding, a family Christmas classic – these will be my dinner rolls.

I also made Butter Tart Bars, Shortbread cookies, and Apple-Cranberry Chutney for the stuffing (I think that this would make a great addition for gift baskets next year and it’s super quick and easy to make). Even though I’m not hosting Christmas dinner, I decided that I needed to bake some goodies so that when it’s my turn, I’ll have some yummy recipes to choose from, but until then I now have some goodies that I can enjoy other then cookies.

The plan for this week (if the weather cooperates) is for my Mom and I to have dinner with my best friend’s family on Christmas day where my friend’s Mom makes a delicious dinner that I can enjoy with a rotisserie chicken separate from the turkey; and then I will be heading over to my Dad’s on Boxing day to join my brothers and their families for yet another delicious dinner. However, if the weather does not cooperate the back-up plan is for my Mom and I to make our own Roast Chicken Dinner with Quinoa Stuffing on Christmas day and have a movie marathon.

I would like to wish everyone a very Merry Christmas and hope that Christmas day finds you and your loved ones well.

This week’s Menu Swap is being hosted by Angela over at Angela’s Kitchen who has a wonderful Christmas theme added to her blog.

Here is this week’s dinner menu only as I am off on holidays and plan on eating whatever leftovers I have for lunch.

Sunday
Poultry Stuffing Bread test run with Apple-Cranberry Chutney

Monday
Garlic shrimp over rice

Tuesday
Chana Masala (Chickpea curry)
*this was really good last week, but my Mom and I want to tweak it just a little

Wednesday – Christmas Eve
Home-made sushi rolls

Thursday – Merry Christmas!
Christmas Dinner with friends – rotisserie chicken with savoury pudding, poultry stuffing and gravy, and of course, apple cranberry chutney

Friday – Boxing Day
Turkey dinner with GF poultry stuffing and gravy and my Dad’s special mint peas (I’m sure there will be much more here, but that’s what I know for sure) and a GF Spiced Cake (I think)

Saturday
Chicken/Turkey leftovers (if I’m still hungry after so many feasts!)

Don’t forget to head over to Angela’s Kitchen to join in other Christmas celebrations – I can’t wait to check them all out!

Categories: Menu Swap
  1. December 23, 2008 at 4:19 am

    Your menu, as always, is so great! I can’t wait to try the Apple Cranberry Chutney. I love chutneys and this looks like a tasty one. Have a very Merry Christmas!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

