Home > Menu Swap > Menu Swap – September 21

Menu Swap – September 21

Ummmmmmmm, just smell that crisp, fresh air (or as fresh as “fresh air” gets when you live in the city). I am so happy that it Autumn has arrived. I know that many of you are probably thinking, “what?! Is she crazy?!” And my answer would be YES!!! because I love the Fall weather. I have to say that Autumn is my all time favourite season. There is just something about the smell and the chill that comes in. When I was living in Alberta I thoroughly missed this season. If felt like there were only 2 seasons, winter and summer. As much as I love wearing my flip flops (which I could do all year round with those funky socks that my sister loves), I really love watching the seasons change over, and best of all is that Thanksgiving, Hallowe’en, and Christmas are a whole lot closer! I love to decorate for these holidays, I think that this year I will actually find some hay for my front porch and make a real scarecrow instead of my newspaper bodies. I loved (and hated) going to the corn maze in September and the pumpkin patch in October with my students (hated it because we always ended up there during the biggest down pour and left covered in mud). Bales of hay, cobs of fresh picked corn, barn animals, great big pumpkins – how can you not love Autumn?! Of course there is the down side of Autumn such as rain, clouds, storms, darkness, daylight savings…hold on a second, for all of you who know me I love all of those things. I guess you get the idea now, I LOVE AUTUMN, so I’ll stop going on about it now and get to the good stuff…the GF Menu Swap.

I am hosting this week’s swap and I have chosen apples for my ingredient, after all, ’tis the season for apples to be harvested. There are so many things that you can do with apples:
  • apple crisp
  • apple pie
  • apple sauce
  • apple fritter
  • apple strudel
  • apple juice
  • apple compote
  • caramel apples
  • candy apples
  • bobbing for apples (although that’s not exactly considered safe anymore)
  • apple cider
  • apple wine
  • apple butter
And the list goes on. Apples are also great with other fruit such as cranberries…ummmm, apple-cranberry juice, or cranberry apple pie. I think that I had better stop because I am making myself hungry and I have none of these things lying around to eat at the moment.
Here are some interesting Apple tidbits:
  • During the Jewish New Year, Rosh Hashanah, apples are eaten with honey as a symbol of a sweet new year (September 29, 2008)
  • the goddess Iðunn is portrayed in the Prose Edda (Norse Mythology) as giving apples to the gods in order for them to have eternal youthfulness
  • one of Heracles’ 12 labours in Greek Mythology was to travel to the Garden of the Hesperides and pick the golden apples off the Tree of Life growing at its center
  • Paris of Troy awarded an apple inscribed Καλλιστή (Kalliste, translated as the most beautiful one) to Aphrodite after she bribed him with Helen of Sparta, the most beautiful woman of the world, which led to the Trojan War
  • Hippomenes used 3 golden apples to distract Atalanta so that he could win her hand in marriage (Greek Mythology)
  • And let’s not forget the famous story of Eve luring Adam into the Garden of Eden with an apple in the Book of Genesis
  • the apple is believed to be the fruit of the Tree of Knowledge of Good and Evil
  • Snow White bit into a poisoned apple and fell asleep, only to be awoken by her handsome Prince
  • apple tended to be the word used for generic fruit in Olde English tales
  • “An apple a day keeps the doctor away.” This adage is most likely the result of farmers trying to counteract the bad rep the apple was given in the story of Adam and Eve in order to sell their product
  • the larynx is called the adam’s apple because it is believed to be the forbidden fruit sticking in the throat of Adam

WOW! I can’t believe all of the different references to apples through the ages…no wonder I love apples so much as I’m familiar with most of these tales. Maybe there really is something to subliminal messages after all. Well, it’s a good thing that apples are also a good source of fiber. I love making fresh apple juice, especially when I have had some intestinal upset. They say that apples have little vitamin C compared to other fruits, but because of their fibre content they are great for bowel regulations, heart disease, weight loss, and controlling cholesterol.

Sunday
Breakfast – fresh fruit
Lunch – toast and quinoa salad
Dinner – veggie burgers (sol cuisine)

Monday
Breakfast – Apple-Cranberry juice & cheese scone with jam
Lunch – leftover veggie burger
Dinner – green salad & salmon

Tuesday
Breakfast – apple sauce & cheese scone
Lunch – sandwich
Dinner – green salad & salmon

Wednesday
Breakfast – apple sauce & cheese scone
Lunch – quinoa salad
Dinner – spaz-ghetti

Thursday
Breakfast – apple sauce & cheese scone
Lunch – leftover spaz-ghetti
Dinner –

Friday
Breakfast – fresh fruit
Lunch – sandwich
Dinner – something delicious as I will be getting paid!!!

For more great recipe ideas check out the following links!

Sally over at Aprovechar (love that name!) is excited to be entering her final week of work and then moving on to her dream of writing, Go Sally!!! Her meals sound delicious, especially her dinners. She has kindly shared the link to Sunday’s dinner of warm sweet potato salad, which I will definitely be checking out.
Gluten Free Goodness is baking up a storm with her “cranky ankle.” I wish her all the best in her search for a good Honey Apple Cake and hope that she shares the recipe with us because it sounds like something I would love to add to my apple list. But for now I am more than happy to settle for her lemon poppy seed bread – yum!
Book of Yum has shared her spaghetti squash mac ‘n’ cheese recipe with us, which has me drooling. She also has a great menu planned with Indian, Mexican, and Vegetarian themes as well as a housewarming menu plan. Don’t forget to stop by and check out this months Adopt-a-GF Blogger; it is a Lunchbox Recipe edition in hopes of creating a resource list.
Manda has yet another great menu over at Asparagus Thin, which she plans on enjoying before her crazy work schedule kicks in. She will be making a yummy sounding chili as well as a quinoa dish that is after my own heart (hopefully she’ll share the recipe). I hope she enjoys watching the Wizard of Oz soon!
Gluten Free is Life has a very busy week planned with baking and enjoying family favourite dinners. Stay tuned for her homemade biscuit recipe posting later this week, but until then Kim has generously posted a whole bunch of her family favourite recipes just below this weeks menu – Thank you Kim!
Fresh Ginger is enjoying fresh picked apples from the farm and still making her way through cookbooks, which have inspired her for this weeks menu. She has a quite a range of themes like French and Thai, as well as a potluck dinner at work all planned out. Good luck harvesting, roasting, and smoking your chiles and jalapenos.
Angela has just returned from a Gluten Free Culinary Summit and is planning on having an easy menu week filled with family favourites as well as some of the things she learned while away. Keep your eye out for her upcoming post all about the conference as well as how she substitutes natural sweeteners for sugar in recipes over in Angela’s Kitchen.
Categories: Menu Swap
  1. September 22, 2008 at 12:35 pm

    When I moved to CA, I really did miss the autumn, and now I do appreciate it more. The colors are lovely, just not the chill. Have a great week!

  2. September 22, 2008 at 2:59 pm

    Ooh…love apples! We just went apple picking on Saturday. Making Applesauce in my crock pot right now and lots of apple baked goods on my menu this week.Here is my entry:http://glutenfreeislife.wordpress.com/2008/09/21/menu-plan-monday-september-22-2008/Kim

  3. September 23, 2008 at 3:05 am

    I’m with you on the fall. I love it! Apples too. Yum!My post is up: http://www.angelaskitchen.com/Angelas_Kitchen/Blog/Entries/2008/9/22_Menu_Plan_Monday.htmlWe finally made the samosa recipe you sent. We really liked it. Super tasty. I kept the spice out of the kids wraps. My littlest one really likes the “big coconut chip” (what she calls the wrap! hahaha!) Thank you so much for sending it to us! That was very kind of you. It is a keeper.

  4. cy
    November 7, 2008 at 11:43 pm

    loving the culinary celebration of autumn here!xoxo,Cy

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

