Home > Menu Swap > Menu Swap – September 7, 2008

Menu Swap – September 7, 2008

I am suddenly feeling a little stressed. On the plus side, I have been called in for a temporary assignment for the next 2-3 weeks, but I feel like what little time I have has just been cut in half and I have a lot to do…or maybe it just feels that way. I think the most pressing thing at this moment is that I have to find an apple pie recipe. Yep, you heard me, an apple pie. Since I have been making my own bread, wraps (thanks to Kate’s creations), and many other things, there have been many people harassing me to go into cooking, but I don’t forsee that every happening. Maybe a GF bed and breakfast later on in the future, but that’s about it.

So, on that note a friend sent me an entry form for an apple pie contest taking place during the Harvest Festival on September 20 and for some reason I filled it out and submitted it without thinking about the fact that I have never made an apple pie…not even pre-CD, well atleast not on my own and not since I entered my twenties. However, I remembered that I just recently signed out Rebecca Reilly’s Gluten Free Baking from the library and low and behold there is a pie crust recipe in their. So, I currently have a loaf of bread in the oven (so that I can have lunch tomorrow) and a variation on her pie crust recipe. I also plan on trying a couple of other crust recipes this week and then I’m going to take the different pies (if there are any leftover) to my dad’s place for the “Chili Cooks” to try them out. Every year, around this time, my dad hosts a chili cookoff at his place and then we all finish it off by partying it up with a potluck dinner. Obviously I won’t be able to eat anything other than my pie but no worries, it will still be fun.

Ok, that is only the tip of the iceberg of my stresses but I feel better already, so thanks for hearing me out. Now on to a fun topic…the GF Menu Swap. This week is being hosted by GF Mommy, who has a delicious sounding Ginger Flank Steak posting from her holidays. I’m going to have to check that out in the next little while. Her ingredient choice is tomatoes – and amazingly enough, before I even knew that I had already planned for a couple of tomato recipes.

Sunday
Breakfast – bananas and peanut butter
Lunch – Cheddar & Broccoli Risotto
Dinner –

Monday
Breakfast – bananas & strawberries
Lunch – roasted pepper sandwich
Dinner – mandarin salad with sweet & sour dressing

Tuesday
Breakfast – fruit salad
Lunch – leftover salad
Dinner – 10 minute pasta meal

Wednesday
Breakfast – Apple Cranberry Juice and strawberries
Lunch – roasted pepper sandwich

Thursday
Breakfast – Apple Cranberry Juice
Lunch – leftover Nori Rolls
Dinner – Fresh Tomato Leek Sauce with Prawns (over rice?)

Friday
Breakfast – Apple Cranberry Juice and toast
Dinner – Shrimp Caesar Salad

Saturday
Breakfast – whatever fruit is leftover
Lunch – shrimp caesar wrap
Dinner – apple pie?!

I hope that everyone has a great week and don’t forget to head over to GF Mommy’s for recipe roundup!
Categories: Menu Swap
  1. Sea
    September 9, 2008 at 1:09 am

    Everything sounds so healthy and tasty. Yum! Hope the apple pie turns out well. Rebecca Reilly usually has good, reliable recipes and I seem to remember that one working nicely. :)-Seahttp://www.bookofyum.com/blog/

  2. September 11, 2008 at 1:46 am

    I have found a great recipe by Paula Dean. It is probably still listed on the site for the cooking channel. She includes applesauce -1 to 2 cups mixed in with the apple chunks before baking. It really comes out great! One day soon I’ll make it and try to post it.

  3. September 12, 2008 at 4:20 pm

    Can’t wait to see how the apple pie contest turns out. Take lots of pics for us.

  4. September 21, 2008 at 8:11 pm

    Here’s my post for this week’s round-up:http://aprovechar.danandsally.com/?p=343Thanks for hosting. :)–Sally

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

