Home > Adopt a GF Blogger > Adopt a GF Blogger

Adopt a GF Blogger

This was my first time joining in on Adopt a Gluten-Free Blogger and I am sad to say that I went very wrong at some point in samosa making – talk about a flop! I decided to enter because I really wanted to try Book of Yum’s samosas, something that I have been dying to have for months now but no clue as to where to begin in my creation. I should have searched for the chebe mix, but no I had to go with the scratch pastry idea forgetting that there was a reason I use to BUY the pastry pre-GF living.

On the plus side, the filling is fantastic, even if the onions were more singed rather than carmelized! I have leftovers that I’m going to bake up for either lunch or dinner today and have with some naan bread. I’m really not sure where I went wrong but I should have known that this was not going to work for me right from the start. First, I read the recipe wrong and was limited on some ingredients not to mention the fact that I was unable to find coriander seeds and cumin seeds, so I substituted the ground up. However, I think my down fall came when I forgot to pull the teff flour out of the freezer, or maybe it was because I was watching tv at the same time I was putting the dough together…who knows?! I plan on trying this recipe again, but that won’t be for a while yet.

Some minor changes that I made:

  • 1 cup of peas instead of 1/2 a cup. I love peas!
  • 1/2 tsp. mustard seed added
  • used ground cumin & coriander in place of the seeds. I cut the onion up and mixed it in with olive oil then added the spices and mixed them together.

I look forward to making this again, next time with success!

Categories: Adopt a GF Blogger
  1. Sea
    September 3, 2008 at 4:27 pm

    Hi M-Elle, I’m sorry to hear the recipe wasn’t a success. I almost suggested you email me while making it with any questions, because being vegan and whole grain, this recipe is more fiddley than most I have at the book of yum. Leaving out the teff flour would definitely change things… And having lots of practice with gluten-free pastry (and making tortillas) etc. would probably help with this recipe. The tips, especially the ziploc bag tip, are really essential for getting the recipe to work. Please do try chebe, as it is positively fool-proof and extremely easy to handle… Basically the opposite of this recipe, haha. Hope you don’t give up on my site! *hugs*-Sea

  2. September 3, 2008 at 5:53 pm

    No worries on giving up on your site, I love it! I look at this way, I’ve been lucky with the majority of my GF baking, so it’s no big deal. It’s just a new challenge for my next mini break.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

