Home > Uncategorized > Hearty Millet…Stew?

Hearty Millet…Stew?


Last fall I took a GF cooking class at Choices Market in hopes of learning how to cook GF. Not only did I try 4 delicious meals, but I also received 8 different recipes that included some wonderful soups. At this time I was still pretty new to the whole GF diet and trying to figure out how to survive the winter. I had spent the whole summer trying new recipes, but nothing that I really wanted to continue making. I was still living off of Kinnikinnick breads, which were delicious at the time (and still are great for emergencies) but just not cutting it for me. Thankfully this class introduced me to some grains other than rice such as millet, buckwheat, and quinoa.

I don’t know about you, but whenever I make home-made soup the broth is absorbed by the rice or millet turning it into a stew (if I’m lucky). I would have to say that this is the first soup that I don’t mind having it like a stew. I only have to add some water, salt, & pepper; heat it up; and viola! This is now my favourite soup. I think I also liked that it is simple to make and I discovered a new herb – fennel. Yep, you can bet that that is going to be one of my ingredients some time in the very near future of Menu Swapping…just wait and see!

Once again, I probably sound crazy because I am making soup and chili in the summer, but if you have been in the lower mainland these last couple of weeks you know that it sure doesn’t look or feel like summer. If feels like the middle of fall…only without the wonderful smell of the season. That’s how I know we still have a little bit more summer weather coming our way, but I can’t wait to smell the cool change in the air that will be heading our way soon.

HEARTY MILLET SOUP/STEW
1 Tbsp. EVOO
2-4 small white onions
2-4 carrots, diced
1 fennel bulb, diced
1 cup of millet (uncooked)
1-540 ml can of cooked lentils, drained & rinsed
1-398 ml can of chick peas, drained & rinsed
5 cups of vegetable stock
1/2 tsp. salt & pepper

Saute onion, carrot, and fennel. When lightly browned add millet, lentils, chick peas, and vegetable stock.
Bring to a boil then simmer for 45 minutes to 1 hour (or until millet is cooked). Add salt & pepper.

*Sometimes I will add baked spaghetti squash if I feel like have some “noodles”.

This is great to freeze or just to have as leftovers with some crakers. I love that I can choose whether it will be a soup or a stew by the amount of water that I add when re-heating it.

I’ll add a picture as sonn as I take one…hopefull I won’t eat it all up first!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. August 31, 2008 at 3:05 pm

    What a fun class to have been able to take. I’ve thought lately about developing a top-8-free cooking class for one of the cooking schools around here, because I would’ve been so thrilled to go to something like that a year ago. (Or now, too, actually!)I’ve heard the trick with millet is that if you don’t stir it while it’s cooking, it will stay in separate grains, and if you do stir it while it’s cooking (or if you slow-cook it, I’ve found), it will thicken up into a stew-ish form. But hey, I really enjoy it that way; I actually prefer that to the separate grains. So no complaints from me!

  2. August 31, 2008 at 5:27 pm

    Really? I had no idea, I’m going to have to try that next time. Thanks for the tip. I also found that using chicken broth kept soupy, but I prefer vegetable in my soups.

  3. August 31, 2008 at 6:11 pm

    This sounds good even without the millet. Mmm!

  4. February 2, 2009 at 3:18 am

    what a yummy looking soup! I’ve only done millet in soup once, and it expanded and stole all of my yummy broth…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

