Home > Menu Swap > Menu Swap – August 24

Menu Swap – August 24

This is going to be a really quick posting as I am finally doing what I should have done months ago…preparing bread and muffin mixes to throw into my freezer. Sadly, my summer holidays are coming to an end but on the plus side, that means a pay cheque! This week is going to be spent getting myself organized, both in and out of the kitchen. I thought that I had better get my menu up ASAP or else I might forget once I’ve gotten into my kitchen routine. There’s nothing like baking and listening to some great music – all the better for dancing around the kitchen.

My plans for the week are to make up at least 4 of my favourite bread mixes, muffin mixes, 1 or 2 pita bread mixes, and a couple of sandwich wrap mixes. I also need to make at least 2 loaves of bread, 2-4 batches of muffins, and some falafels. All but 1 loaf of bread will be going into my freezer so that I am ready. This way I can spend more time on my studies and not have to worry too much about lunches. Hopefully this will get me through to the end of Septemebr (and if I’m really lucky, it will get me to Thanksgiving weekend when I can buy more supplies and mix up a storm). I also hope to get an inventory going of different meals that I can prepare so that I won’t have to do too much scrambling. Oh, and I just remembered that I should get my rear-in-gear and some samosas for Adopt-a-GF Blogger. Phew! I’m exhausted just reading this…not too sure how I’ll get it all together
This week’s menu is being hosted by Fresh Ginger, who has chosen eggplant as the weekly ingredient. I have never had eggplant before and have pretty much joined in with the majority of people who avoid it. However, since going GF I have discovered so many different foods that are delicious, I figure what’s one more?! I will be making an eggplant dip with crispy flatbread tomorrow as a trial (my mom and LOVE dips!) and if it tastes as great as it sounds, I’ll be doubly excited because I’ll then have another appetizer for potlucks. I’m kind of thinking of trying out a couple of different mediterranean dip recipes that I found in an old vegetarian cookbook (I pulled them out because I knew they would have some eggplant recipes).

GF Menu – August 25 – 30, 2008

Monday
Roasted quinoa stuffed peppers (never did get a chance to try these out last week) & green salad

Tuesday
Hearty Millet soup (suppose to pour buckets of rain)

Wednesday
roasted eggplant pizza

Thursday
hearty millet soup

Friday
Veggie Burgers

I’m sorry to say that this isn’t quite as organized as usual, but I really have no idea what else I’m going to eat…yet. I think that I’ll just play it by ear and see where the food takes me.

Don’t forget to head over to Fresh Ginger to see what everyone else has in store for this week.

Categories: Menu Swap
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

