Home > Uncategorized > Crazy Cravings – tuna & sprouts

Crazy Cravings – tuna & sprouts

Ok, I know that tuna & sprouts don’t really sound all that crazy for a craving, but if you knew me, you would know that I rarely buy either of these foods (except tuna sashimi). However, since my friend’s tuna & avocado salad on our first night in Oregon, which included alfalfa sprouts, I have been craving that very salad. I made it again this past Sunday and found it to be deliciously satisfying. But then I got to thinking of other ways to use the tuna & sprouts up and suddenly I was dying for a tuna sandwich with crisp lettuce and alfalfa sprouts. Oh yeah, I had to go out and buy more tuna.

As I said before, I am not a tuna fan. But this sandwich was delicious. It was filled with fresh green onions and celery in the tuna, and then the added touch of crisp lettuce and alfalfa sprouts (bread was pretty good too, it was Bob Red Mills GF Wonderful Bread mix).
On the plus side of this craving is that alfalfa sprouts are incredibly good for you. They are full of spanonins, which are known for lowering bad cholesterol and fat while leaving the good HDL fats alone and stimulating the immune system with T-lymphocyte growth and interferon (the killer cells). Sprouts are full of minerals and active antioxidants that prevent DNA destruction and protect us from aging.
Anyone interested in growing there own alfalfa sprouts then check out this site.
Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment