Home > Uncategorized > Sesame Ginger Tofu

Sesame Ginger Tofu

Well, I had to make a couple of alterations to this recipe, but personally I think that it came out much better than before. I haven’t made this recipe for 2 years at least. I actually snagged the recipe (or the ingredients) from the Choices Market Sesame Ginger Tofu found in their deli, something that I loved to eat but had to give up since there’s no guarantee of it being safe from CC. I have to admit, I was really tempted to throw caution to the wind the last time I was at the store, but when I looked at the other products in the case with the dish, I knew that it would be pure stupidity.

I wrote out the ingredients a few years ago because I new that it would be cheaper to make my own rather than constantly buying it from the deli. However, I omitted some of the ingredients at the time because there was no way I would be using them. So here it is, one of the few things tofu that it tasty AND GF!

Sesame Ginger Tofu
1 cube of tofu (I used a different brand than usual and it was in a cube, about 3/4 of the rectangular block usually found in stores)
1 tsp. fresh ginger, minced
2 Tbsp. EVOO
1/4 C. sweet chili sauce (be careful of the type of vinegar used)
2 green onions, chopped
1 Tbsp. white sesame seeds

Drain the tofu. Cut into cubes ( I don’t make them too small, but not overly large either – it depends on your preference) and place into a bowl. Mix the other ingredients together separately (blends together much better than pouring over the tofu individually), then pour over the tofu and mix together.

Let marinate for 1 hour at least (this is a major secret for the taste – at least that’s what I think), or longer.

Bake in preheated oven at 400 F for 10 minutes. Stir the tofu mix and then move the rack up higher and broil for 10 minutes; stirring throughout. Then serve.

*The trick to flavouring is marinating before cooking and stirring during baking/broil.

Enjoy!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. August 15, 2008 at 7:41 pm

    Thanks for stopping by! Your blog looks so great! I am still very new to this CF/GF/ egg-free…etc. diet,so I’m sort of scrambling for ideas! 🙂 I’m interested in the recipe swap…how do I do that? I have 3 little ones so not a lot of time to research!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

