Home > Menu Swap > Menu Swap

Menu Swap

Well, I survived my camping trip with no major problems. Actually my friends were pretty cool about everything. They had their bagels and hot dogs and buns and an evening of kraft dinner, but otherwise everything went well and I was able to join in on the majority of the meals. I discovered Fred Meyer and became a regular at the store – they had canned soup that was GF so I had to stalk up, only to find out that the very soup has been brought in to my local Superstore! I have to say that being out in the fresh air was wonderful, but even better was that I had the energy to go hiking and surfing (or attempt it), something that I have been lacking for years. I was even able to go for a run with my girlfriend! I’ve been back for 2 days now, but I really haven’t had to worry about recovering my energy (my sunburn is a whole other story). But with my trip being over, it means that I now must return to reality and the realization that I only have 3 more weeks left before I return to work, very sad.

I think that I’ll be spending this week doing laundry and cleaning the sand off of me. I also plan on enjoying a great variety of salads. I didn’t eat quite as many fruits and vegetables as I usually do while I was away, so I plan on eating a lot fruits and green salads. I already started tonight and it was delicious!!!

This week’s menu is being hosted by Wheatstate Celiac and the ingredient is tofu. I was a vegetarian for about 12 years, so I look forward to re-introducing myself to some of my tofu recipes. Book of Yum is a great blog for tofu recipes.

GF Menu Swap
Sunday (dog training)
Breakfast – cherries & banana
Snack – mighty tasty muffin
Lunch – quinoa bean loaf
Snack – chips & salsa
Dinner – tuna & avocado salad

Monday (30 min Interval Run)
Breakfast – fruit salad
Snack – mighty tasty muffin
Lunch – tuna salad sandwich with cucumber, sprouts, green leaf lettuce & GF mustard (I love this company’s dressings, oils, and mustards!)
Snack – veggies and dip
Dinner – GF Pancakes

Tuesday
Breakfast – fruit salad
Snack – pancake wraps
Lunch – sandwich wrap
Snack – Lara bar
Dinner – bunless burger & salad

Wednesday (Swimming)
Breakfast – fresh fruit
Snack – banana & peanut butter
Lunch – sandwich wrap
Snack – veggies & dip
Dinner – Sesame Ginger Tofu (recipe to follow) & salad

Thursday (30 min Interval Run)
Breakfast – fresh fruit
Snack – smoothie
Lunch – sesame tofu sandwich wrap with greens & sprouts
Snack – veggies & dip
Dinner – peanut tofu satay with vegetable stirfry

Friday
Breakfast – fruit salad
Snack – Crispy Rice Bar
Lunch – quinoa & lima bean salad (recipe to follow)
Snack –
Dinner – spinach & avocado salad (recipe to follow)

Saturday (30 min. Interval Run)
Breakfast – fresh fruit
Snack – banana with peanut butter
Lunch – quinoa & lima bean salad
Snack –
Dinner – sushi

My menu still needs some tweaking, but this is the gist of it. As usual, I’ll have to add pictures tomorrow, but for now here it is. I’ll be back with some delicious recipes and some pictures of my trip.

Cheers!

Categories: Menu Swap
  1. August 11, 2008 at 10:40 am

    looking forward to the quinoa salad. Have a great week!

  2. August 11, 2008 at 2:09 pm

    Yes I did! Lol! And I totally thought of you as I bought it. I found myself craving it and I said, “Well M would be proud.”I actually have mangoes too and I saw your avocado mango salad which sounds like a winning breakfast for me! I think I just needed to give the poor fruit a second chance. Now its on its third round and I think its going to stay.

  3. August 12, 2008 at 1:37 am

    Your menu is so good, as always. We are going to have the samosas this weekend. I think my daughter’s teeth can handle it by then (she just got braces). I am going to have her help me make the samosas and set it up on our dehydrator so she has something to look forward to!I am looking forward to the sesame ginger tofu. Thanks for sharing!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

