Home > Menu Swap > Menu Swap – July 27

Menu Swap – July 27

“Put the lime in the COCONUT, and mix it all up…”

For some bizarre reason I love that song and it pops into my head everytime I see, hear, or read coconut, so I figured that it would be fitting to make it my ingredient for this week. I mean seriously, who doesn’t love the movie Practical Magic and the scene of them all drinking margaritas and dancing around the kitchen?! Ok, in all honesty I chose coconut because I found this RAW Samosa recipe months ago and I’ve been dying to make it. It uses a mix of young coconut meat & water blended with a couple of spices and then dehydrated as the wraps – sounds delicious in my opinion, and I can’t wait to try it out. My mom making coconut milk and using it for cereal, smoothies, or RAW pudding.

Now here is something interesting – coconuts are a dry nut. Huh, I had no idea. The meat of a coconut has less fat than other nuts, such as almonds and peanuts, but there is a high concentration of saturated fat. Yes, saturated fats have a bad rap, but in my opinion that is because all of the studies have been done on the saturated fats found in dairy products and not on the NATURALLY occurring saturated fats found in living foods like coconuts. Bonus – coconuts are fairly high in the minerals iron, phosphorous, and zinc; and a good source of protein. There are both young and mature coconuts. Young coconuts have a softer meat and taste much sweeter, while the mature ones have a firmer meat. My dogs love eating coconut pieces – they think that they’re a great treat!

Differents ways to use a coconut:

  • substitute for milk = blend “meat” of a mature coconut and water together
  • cream = an infusion of coconut water and shredded coconut
  • whipping cream (my creation – recipe to follow)
  • thai curries
  • butter
  • oil
  • electrolyte drink = there are zillions of sports drinks on the market that claim to boost our “electrolytes” before, during, and after a workout. Personally, I find such drinks too sweet (which says a lot because I love sweet food & drinks), but coconut water is a great source of electrolytes (better because it has less sugar than commercial drinks). Simply substitute coconut water for plain water and make a coconut lemonade drink (I’m actually drinking coconut water right now as I type this up).

I think that I had better stop now. I could probably go on, and on, and on…forever; because there are so many wonderful things about coconuts. However, I will restrain myself from droning on any further and move on to this weeks menu round up.

My menu has yet to be created (yikes!). I am still enjoying summer holidays and haven’t actually thought about this weeks food because I’ve been focused on figuring out how to survive my upcoming camping trip with gluten tolerant friends (any tips would be great) and then I unexpectedly ended up attending a dog obedience class that was exhausting, to say the least! I’ll promise that I’ll add it in later today.

GF Menu – July 27 – August 2
Sunday
Lunch – 2 pieces of toast (intended to be my breakfast, but I ended up joing a dog obedience class unexpectedly and missed lunch)
Dinner – RAW samosas with banana tamarind & mango chutney

Monday
Breakfast – banana & peanut butter
Lunch – Mango Avocado Salad
Dinner – Spicy Thai Lettuce wraps with leftover banana tamarind & mango chutney

Tuesday
Breakfast – fruit salad with coconut crumble
Lunch – blood builder smoothie
Dinner – Ginger Almond Nori Rolls

Wednesday
Breakfast – fruit salad with coconut crumble
Lunch – GF McGriddle
Dinner – green salad with mango lime dressing

Thursday
Breakfast – berry coconut “pudding”
Lunch – tomato & avocado sandwich
Dinner – Mahi Mahi with Coconut Rice

Friday
Breakfast – Fruit
Lunch – leftovers
Dinner – Crispy Pecan Chicken Fingers with fries

Saturday
Breakfast – fruit & toast
Lunch – Quinoa & Black Bean salad
Dinner – restaurant or leftovers

Natalie over at GF Mommy is going to be busy baking cakes this week, so she has planned a menu of “stand-by” recipes (it still sounds delicious and I am seriously contemplating “borrowing” her menu). Oh, and she is still looking for some recipes using coconut flour.

Gluten Free Goodness sounds busy as she is hosting this months Go Ahead Honey, it’s Gluten Free as well as the upcoming Adopt a GF Blogger. Her gourmet menu looks great! I hope she plans on sharing her coconut curry recipe because that is something that I would be interested in trying.

Manda has yet another wonderful sounding week planned with her different themes over at Asparagus Thin. She is hoping to catch up on last weeks posts this week, so stay tuned for some more recipes. All the best Manda.

All She Is has her menu up and I must say that I am now hungry. She will be on her own for this week and has planned to revisit a few of her favourite dishes and then finish off any leftovers as she will be heading to a wedding next week.

Kate has been having a bit of difficulty trying to decide what to have for this week over at Gluten Free Gobsmacked. She has chosen a classic though with coconut shrimp and stuffed bell peppers. Even though she hasn’t mentioned it, she appears to have a different theme going on for each night.

Angela’s Kitchen just had a weekend full of family, but she is still rarin’ to go for this upcoming week. She and her family love coconuts and have a great link to make coconut kefir, I can’t wait to try it out. I’m so glad to hear that I’m not the only one who loves the coconut song, can’t beat Kermit’s version though!

Gluten Free Sox has tasty week ahead of her. And as a bonus she gets to enjoy a cooking class in which she can enjoy some yummy GF cooking with half the work. Wednesday night sounds like a feast with stuffed chicken (check out the link) and asparagus, and then she seems to be more organized than I could ever dream with her plan to make some extra pizza crusts for the freezer.

Related Sites:

Categories: Menu Swap
  1. July 28, 2008 at 3:51 pm

    the curry recipe (more or less) is here http://www.gfandhealthy.com/2008/05/04/curry/I make red curry paste every summer and freeze, and as soon as my peppers grow a little more I’ll be ready!

  2. July 28, 2008 at 4:43 pm

    Excellent! Thank you for sharing this recipe with me!

  3. July 28, 2008 at 5:43 pm

    I’m so glad to see this!I’ve been hearing a lot about coconut water lately…just went to a party the other day where they were serving coconut water with cocktails..a company named O.N.E. had coconut water that tasted just like cracking open a coconut.

  4. July 28, 2008 at 11:49 pm

    Thanks for hosting this week. I love, love, LOVE coconut! I am going to have to make nori rolls for the kiddos this weekend. It’s been a while, and they really like them, so thanks for the reminder…I can’t wait to try the curry recipe, too. Curry is a big fav around here. Can you post the recipe for the raw samosa or link when you get a chance? That sounds like something I would really like to try…My post is also up: http://www.angelaskitchen.com/Angelas_Kitchen/Blog/Entries/2008/7/28_Menu_Plan_Monday.html

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

