Home > RAW Living > Nori Rolls

Nori Rolls

Ever since going GF, I have probably doubled my sushi intake (which says a lot since I was already addicted to it before). Strangely enough it is sushi that helps keep my stomach calm when recovering from gluten ingestions. Now I have to admit, there have been a few minor incidents where I haven’t double checked for sauce in the rolls (this was very upsetting as I loved the vegetable roll, but they kept putting some soy sauce mix in it), but for the most part, as long as I stick to the basic – tuna & salmon sashimi, avocado rolls, tuna roll, salmon roll – and use my own soy sauce – San J’s GF one – then I am generally safe, at least at most restaurants.

However, last year I had a japanese exchange student staying with me and she showed me how to roll my own sushi – it was wonderful! I started making all kinds of combinations. But the kicker was when I first saw a RAW nori roll recipe in Raw Rose’s book. I tried it out last summer, and they were delicious, not to mention way easier to roll. I was rollin’ nori rolls like mad! Then a few months ago, when I bought Real Food, Real World and Ani’s Raw Food Kitchen I found a couple more recipes. One used jicama/daikon as rice (this is one of my favourites). But finally last week, I tried Ani’s roll. Another yummy nori roll that was made with an almond pate (also good as a “cheese” on top of salads). The only thing is that I couldn’t find burdock root. So, I just made them with other vegetables instead. Of course a week later I find out that burdock root is also known as gobo and at this moment, there’s lots of it in the asian markets. Now I know, and be prepared for some future info on that little gem of a plant – some interesting tidbits there.

Needless to say, the nori rolls were delicious and there was enough leftover for me to take for lunch the next day, always a plus.

Ginger Almond Nori Rolls
Adapted from Ani’s Raw Food Kitchen by Ani Phyo; printed with permission from Ani Phyo
Wrappers
4 nori sheets* (I actually used about 6 or 7 – but maybe I wasn’t putting enough filling in)
Filling
1 batch of Ginger Almond Pate (recipe below)
4 cups of green leaf lettuce leaves
3 celery sticks, cut into long strips
2 cups of shredded carrot
cucumber, sliced into strips
2 avocadoes
To fill wrapper, lay out nori sheet, spread 1/4 of the the avocado on the end closest to you. Top with 1/2 cup Ginger Almond Pate, a mini celery sticks and 1/2 cup of shredded carrot. Add a few cucumber slices, then roll. (I did some with just avocado, some with just the pate, and then some with both)
Roll up your nori to the top and serve whole, or cut into 4-6 pieces with a sharp knife. Serve immediately.
*for 100% RAW, make sure the nori wraps are not toasted, but dried
Ginger Almond Pate
from Ani’s Raw Food Kitchen by Ani Phyo; printed with permission from Ani Phyo.
2 Tbsp. grated ginger
2 cloves of garlic
1 tsp. sea salt
2 cups of almonds
4 Tbsp. lemon juice
1/2 cup water – as needed
Process ginger, garlic, and salt until mixed well. Add almonds and process while adding lemon juice. Add water only as needed for a hummus-like texture.
Will keep for 3 days in the fridge

ENJOI!

Categories: RAW Living
  1. Sea
    August 26, 2008 at 8:57 pm

    Oh goodness! If only I’d seen this before I picked my adopted blogger… darn it. Oh well, next time. Looks so wonderful. I WILL be trying this, oh yes, I will be trying this one. Looks so good!-Sea

  2. May 17, 2009 at 3:23 am

    This looks so delicious. I love sushi and find it a great alternative for gluten free options, especially the raw sushi variations like yours. Thanks for posting such a great recipe!~Ellenwww.Iamglutenfree.blogspot.com

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

