Home > Uncategorized > Garlic Bread (with great Ravioli)

Garlic Bread (with great Ravioli)

Ok, tonight I decided to get a little crazy and go full out for dinner. As soon as Kate over at GF Gobsmacked posted her GF Shrimp Ravioli with Lemon-Pepper Pasta recipe I knew that I had to make it, and soon because it was exactly what I was looking for. I have been dying for a really good pasta dish for the past year now – one can only handle so much spaghetti. I had put the ravioli down for Friday’s dinner, but I jumped a day since today was cooler and I won’t be home for this upcoming weekend. Now I have lots of leftovers!

Now, in my opinion, you can’t have a full fledge pasta dish without garlic bread. But the problem is that I have always been the one who buys the frozen garlic bread and heats it up in the oven (I am so guilty of never really going the extra mile to make my food pre-CD) or, even worse, I bought the pre-made garlic spreads! Of course, I don’t do that anymore because I have no idea what is in those spreads and most importantly, I have discovered the joys of cooking/baking. So, aside from the few times I’ve made a roast chicken or turkey, I really haven’t out into making my own full fledged meals. My appetite tends to be small when it comes to carbohydrates, but like I said before, I have been dying for a really good pasta dish with all the fixings.

WOW!!! This whole meal was beyond my wildest dreams. The garlic bread was the perfect added touch to what I’ve been missing and the best part was that it was EASY! I used Gluten Free Pantry’s French Bread/Pizza mix, which was good (I would prefer to make my own french bread next time – I think that I am going to venture out and try creating my own recipe and see how it goes), but I can’t complain since that was probably the hardest part of the whole garlic bread recipe. I looked at a few different garlic spread recipes online and took the basics to create my own spread – butter, garlic, and parsley –
and ta-da!
GARLIC BREAD

1 loaf of Gluten Free Pantry’s French Bread mix
or favourite GF Bread
1/2 cup of Butter
3-4 cloves of Garlic
1/4 cup of Parsley
(1/4-1/2 tsp. of salt)

Make the bread mix according to the directions.

Just before ready to serve, mix butter, garlic, parsley, and salt (if the butter is unsalted, use 1/2 tsp. or if it is salted only use up to 1/4 of tsp.) together and then spread on sliced bread.

NOTE: I baked my bread in a regular loaf pan because that’s all I have, thus I chose to slice my bread individually. You can also slice the bread right down the center and then spread it with the mix and cut up after it’s been cooked.

Bake in oven however you like it – for crispy bread broil the bread until it is to your liking and for softer bread, slice and wrap in foil then bake it in the oven for about 10 minutes (I think).

I still have some leftover bread and garlic spread left, so I’m going to slice it and spread it with the garlic mix, then freeze so that I have garlic bread ready to go next time around.

This goes great with Gluten Free Gobsmacked’s GF Shrimp Ravioli with Lemon-Pepper Pasta and aside from being time consuming (everything usually is with me and my perfecionist complex, not to mention my lack of organization today), it is really easy to make. I didn’t use the sauce though – not too sure what went wrong there – but it was great mixed in with Classico’s Grilled Portabello pasta sauce. I’m excited to try this again now that I know what I’m doing.
I should also note that my mom is currently stealing of some of my leftover pasta as I write this and doesn’t realize that I can see her!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

