Home > Uncategorized > Birthday Surprises!

Birthday Surprises!

This is a picture that I found on the next and I think looks awesome, so since I can’t make one look like this yet, I figured I’d post it to share!

This past week was my birthday, and strangely enough, it was also my week at work to tidy the staff room and bring a treat in for everyone. I decided that since it was my birthday, I would bake a cake (or 2) and share them with everyone. I also took in some pita bread with home-made hummus and store bought tzatziki. Thankfully, I wasn’t relying on the cakes because I could not find a single GF icing in any stores near me. I know that it’s really easy to make icing/frosting, but by that time I was exhausted and didn’t want to even look at my kitchen anymore. So I ended up putting the pita and dips out on the Wednesday, and then putting the cakes out on the Thursday, which happened to be my actual birthday anyway.

I chose to make both a white cake and a chocolate cake, one from scratch and the other a box mix. The white cake recipe came from Donna Washburn & Heather Butt’s book, 125 Best Gluten-Free Recipes. It tasted delicious, but I found it really heavy even after I sifted the flours 2x, according to the recipe. I have to say that I have yet to find a recipe that uses just rice flours that I enjoy, but I thought that I’d give it a try. I will definitely make it again, but I think that I’m going to have to experiment with it. In all honesty I wish that I had stuck with my original plan of making Ginger Lemon Girls Everyday Carrot Cake. She has it with a chocolate cake recipe that I am also going to make soon, but I made the Carrot Cake a couple of weeks ago for dinner at my Dad’s house and it was delicious. I thought it tasted even better the next day though – I think that I might have used too much liquid because it was quite “glutinous” as my brother put it, but delicious none the less. For the icing on my white birthday cake I stole the recipe from the icing sugar bag. It wasn’t my favourite either, but I’ve never really been one for icing, hence the reason for trying to buy some rather than make my own. Actually, it was quite funny because after cutting the cake up and serving it, I tried a piece and was grossed out by the icing, but I think that it was because it was an end piece and had more icing than necessary. Later on the principle came in and snagged a piece, and the look on his face was priceless!!! I think that it was partly a joke, but I also think that it was because of the icing. When he saw my name up for treat day, he knew instantly that it was GF and harassed me, but it was all good.

White Icing
2 cups icing sugar
1/2 cup butter

cream together until smooth. Then add:

2 tsp. water
milk
vanilla

I found that the combo of milk and water helped to take away some of the sweetness, so I actually added more. And I rarely measure vanilla out because I love the taste.

Note: Ginger Lemon Girl has just posted a recipe for a chocolate fudge glaze that uses coconut milk and I think that that would be perfect in this recipe – I’m going to have to try it out.

Now for the best – the Chocolate Cake. Sadly, I didn’t actually make this cake from scratch. I ended up buying one of Glutino’s box mixes. I really wanted to make Ginger Lemon Girls Everyday Chocolate Cake (she has it posted with her carrot cake recipe), but because of a shortage of sorghum flour out my way, I have to be very picky on when I use it and right now my bread is a priority. But, I am happy to say that I managed to find some sorghum and plan on making the cake soon (I’ll be heading to a dinner theatre club next weekend and they said that I could talk to the chef about bringing in a dessert for my group, so we’ll see). However, the cake mix was a big hit with all of the staff. And even better was how easy the frosting was to make. I had completely forgotten that I had signed out a GF cookbook from the library with zillions of dessert recipes, so I managed to find the recipe in there. It was chocolate chips and butter melted together, it was delicious on this cake!!! I even used the leftovers to drizzle on top of the white cake. I overheard one of the teachers telling anyone who walked into the staffroom to try the chocolate cake because it was “to die for”. So, I definitely recommend Glutino cake mixes when in a jam (I still prefer to put my own together, but you gotta do what you gotta do). I took pity on on of my students and shared the cake with them because I know that they love chocolate cake.

Well, those were 2 delicious surprises for myself, but to top it all off was dinner out with my mom. We went to the Cactus Club Cafe in White Rock/Surrey. I had heard a while ago that they were great when it came down to allergies, but I never could have imagined that it was this great. Right from the start I told them that I had Celiac Disease and in turn a liason between customers and the kitchen came out with the allergy book to talk to me. He was great!!! For the first time I was able to eat something other than salad AND I could have fries!!! I chose to have the Burger (sans the bun of course) with french fries. The liason said that he would go and talk to the kitchen staff and make sure that everything was prepared in an allergen free zone and that a separate frier was used for my fries. My mom chose to order the caesar salad with grilled salmon and no croutons. Then it was the same liason who brought us our food. My meal was delicious and my mom said that her salmon was also good. I am happy to say that this is the first time that I really enjoyed a meal out and didn’t get sick later. I even ordered a side of fries to go, they were so good. I will definitely be returning to that restaurant!

It is more than safe to say that I survived my birthday GF and enjoyed myself – Phwew!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. June 17, 2008 at 5:06 am

    Happy Birthday, M-Elle! And what a great story to go with it. I’m always so happy to hear about successful restaurant outings like this. Thanks for sharing it!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

