Home > Menu Swap, RAW Living > Menu Swap – June 8

Menu Swap – June 8

Ok, I have decided to stop saying that I’m going to get on here to post the information from my May conference because it’s just not happening. I guess I should have known considering that May/June are always crazy months for me. I work as an Educational Assistant in the public school system, and this year I have wonderful kindergarten student who has low functioning autism. Every school year I seem to block out the fact that the last 2 months are spent on field trips, IEP meetings, and prepping for the following year & the EA that will be taking over. This year is probably the worst when it comes things to do because I also have to add my own personal life chaos into the mess – not only have I had to worry about birhtdays (mine and my mom’s), but I also went to the Canadian Celiac Conference and I have been dogsitting off and on, constantly moving between my house, their house, and a hotel.

I have to admit that I don’t really have a menu set up for this week, I’m actually going to create one off the top of my head because the thought of sitting down and really planning something is not appealing to me at the moment and if I wait until tomorrow, I’ll totally miss the line up. This is probably a good thing because I’m going to be forced to use up what I know I have on hand, such as frozen chicken, soup, and of course, fruits and veggies. My lunches this week are also going to be a little bit larger than usual because the kindergartens are going to swimming lessons everyday this week, and we’re walking there and back (well, my student and I will walk there, but I fully plan on driving her back) AND I will be in the pool with my little one – not that hard a feat for me since I love swimming.

Oh, I’m just remembering that my mom came back from a RAW Retreat last weekend with some delicious recipes, so maybe I’ll be able to sneak in on some of those meals too – yum! She made this delicous RAW beet soup and beanless hummus last week, so I wonder what she’ll make this week. Unfortunately, I stupidly left the recipe book at work on Friday, so my mom is “patiently” waiting to make some RAW Brownies with her bag of RAW cacao [ca-COW]. I couldn’t resist taking the recipe in since I had just shared the hummus with everyone at work the previous day and they were all in love with it. I’ll post the link to the recipe in my menu just below so that you can take a look if you’re interested. I also recommend checking out the rest of the site, it’s RAW ROSE and she has some very simple to make recipes in her book.

GF Menu Swap – June 8 – 14
Sunday
Breakfast: warm butternut squash soup (I have been hit with a cold and wanted something hot)
Lunch: PB&J Toast (only because I was taking the dogs out) and a bowl of RAW Beet soup upon my return
Dinner: more butternut squash soup

Monday
Breakfast: fresh cantaloupe, RAW Apple Pie, PB&J toast
Snack: Mighty Tasty MuffinLunch: RAW Pizza with RAW Can’t Beet that Salad
Snack: fresh red & yellow peppers with RAW hummus
Dinner: baked herb chicken with green salad

Tuesday – My Treat Day at work
Breakfast: RAW Apple Pie
Snack: Mediterranean Spread – tzatziki & hummus with pita bread
Lunch: chicken salad
Snack: veggies & dip
Dinner: RAW nori rolls

Wednesday
Breakfast: fresh fruit
Snack: muffin
Lunch: leftover nori rolls
Snack: romaine lettuce with Holy Moly Guacamole!
Dinner: RAW Alfredo Zucchini with peas & peppers

Thursday – Happy Birthday!
Breakfast: RAW Cacao Fruit Fondue
Snack: Birthday Cupcakes – bonus treat for those at work!
Lunch: turkey sandwich
Snack: veggies & dip
Dinner: Birthday dinner with my mom

Friday – TGIF!
Breakfast: fresh fruit
Snack: Larabar – if I’m not full from previous night’s dinner
Lunch: turkey sandwich if there are no leftovers
Snack: veggies & dip
Dinner: RAW Veggie Chili

Saturday
Breakfast: fruit salad
Lunch: sandwich & green salad
Dinner: Cactus Club to celebrate my birthday with friends

Well, I conferred with my mom about her RAW plans for the week and it looks like I’m going to go with most of that, but if the weather continues on it’s wet path, than I may be living off of hot soup to stay warm and battle my mini cold. I feel a little sorry for my co-workers this week because I am probably going to wreak of garlic if this cold doesn’t pass soon.

Manda over at Asparagus Thin is hosting this week’s swap and her ingredient is eggs. I have nothing on my menu with eggs (except home-made bread and cupcakes) because eggs and I have a love-hate relationship. It is very rare that I enjoy eating eggs, but there have been the odd occassions when I have had a craving and after “satisfying” said craving, I end up feeling nauseous for the rest of the day, so it’s best if I just use eggs for baking purposes only. However, on that note, I look forward to seeing what Manda has planned for this week because she has some great recipes that I can’t wait to try out this summer!!!

Categories: Menu Swap, RAW Living
  1. June 9, 2008 at 10:57 pm

    raw cacao is awesome. I love it!have a great birthday!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

