Home > RAW Living > Holy Moly Guacamole!

Holy Moly Guacamole!

I should start by saying that I LOVE AVOCADOES!!! I remember eating them with a spoon right from the shell when I was a kid. For the last month or so, I’ve been eating at least one avocado a day. Sometimes I have that for lunch as is, or sometimes I’ll slice it up and mix it with my salad (although this is rare since I tend to eat it all up as I go along), or I’ll use it in my sandwich…yummy! Well, a while back Martha Stewart had Eva Longoria on her show and she was showing Martha how to make her guacamole – so naturally, I had to try it.

It is delicious and did not last in my house. In fact, we stood in the kitchen with romaine lettuce leaves (no chips or crackers at the time) eating it. We’ve been making it ever since on a fairly regular basis with a few alterations of our own. I’ve actually taken the dip to work for my lunch with lettuce leaves once or twice and had some odd looks come my way, but I think they’ve gotten use to my strange lunches.

I was eating this dip yesterday with rice crackers. They don’t look like much, and really have no taste, but I really enjoy them with mozzarella cheese or some cream cheese and jalapeno jelly. I was eating the dip with HOL GRAIN Brown Rice Crackers this time around. I like that in the box there are 2 different packages of crackers, so I can keep one package in my “special GF emergency car kit” (I’ll have to write about that one day – it’s very handy, but also a curse to my sanity).

Guacamole (small batch for 1)

1 avocado
1 tomato
a small bunch of cilantro
juice of 1 lime (lemon juice works, but I think that the lime juice tastes 10x better!)
pinch of sea salt

Cut and peel the avocado and put into a bowl. Cut up tomatoes and cilantro and add to the avocado. Juice the lime and toss in a pinch of salt (or more if you like). Stir it all together and then referigerate for an hour at least for best results (it rarely makes it to the fridge in my house, but I try really hard to make sure that it does so that I can taste the lime blended in with everything else.

Serve with your choice of crackers, chips, or lettuce leaves.

I have just typed up 1 serving because in all honesty, I simply mix it however I like – if I feel like lots of tomato, then I’ll add more and the same goes for the cilantro – I probably add way more than I put down, but I’m a cilantro fan.

This is also great for a party appetizer! Everyone loves it.

NOTES:

Categories: RAW Living
  1. May 9, 2008 at 1:36 pm

    Hey M-Elle. I was wondering if you can suggest a good avocado recipe (guacomole aside) for someone who simply loathes avocado. I just can’t seem to like it. I want to, I honestly do, but every time I taste it I seem to find it taste quite similar to my mud mask. No I don’t eat my mud mask but when it gets in my mouth – bleh!

  2. May 18, 2008 at 5:44 pm

    As I said in my email, try a sandwich, but you could also try guacamole with salsa. Or you can try putting it in smoothies.M-Elle

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

