Home > Menu Swap, RAW Living > GF Menu Swap

GF Menu Swap

Well, I have spent the last few months watching everyone post their weekly menus and I’ve even borrowed some ideas/recipes. I figure that it is now time for me to branch out and actually join in rather than sitting back. And I’m hoping that it will force me to be more vigilant about creating my own weekly menus. That’s the only way I seem to eat properly through out the week and can guarantee a reasonable grocery bill rather than one that’s just plain frivolous! I guess that I had better get on with it before I babble myself into the following week.

The Gluten Free Menu Swap is organized by Natalie over at Gluten Free Mommy and this week is being hosted by Asparagus Thin, who’s site name alone inspired great interest in me as I love asparagus. The ingredient is peas. What can I say about peas…hmmm. I remember my grandparents growing peas eons ago when I was child. They had a beautiful garden that was full of all kinds of fruits and vegetables. I have some wonderful memories of that garden, in particular one of myself and a cousin sneaking into the garden to pick and eat the fresh peas. The best was when my cousin ate the pea pod with the peas. I thought she was going to die! After not dying, she coerced me to eat the whole pod too and I was thoroughly grossed out. Now I do enjoy the pods, but only after the fun of picking the peas out first! Before going GF I would make up rice noodles for my work lunch and pour frozen peas on top, letting them thaw through out the morning and then pouring a ginger teriyaki sauce on top…yum. I think that I have some pea flour in my fridge. I’m going to challenge myself to find a recipe that calls for pea flour this week and try it out. But I might not be able to make it until Friday night since I have a zillion things to do this week and I prefer to bake when I don’t have to worry about getting up the next AM.

Well, here is my first GF Menu:

Sunday
Brunch: green salad with caesar dressing
Dinner: BBQ Chicken (IGA) with plum sauce

Monday
Lunch: Grilled Portabello Sandwich with Sun-Dried Tomato spread
-leftover from the weekend
-found this recipe on Seamaiden’s website, Book of Yum
Dinner: Dijon Mustard Dill Salmon with salad and Litehouse’s Greek
Feta dressing (again, the main course is from Book of Yum)

Tuesday
Lunch: Greek Salad with Moroccan Millet
Dinner: White Mushroom Risotto with Dolmas (RAW Living meal found in Ani Phyo’s book)

Wednesday
Lunch: Salad or leftovers or both!
Dinner: Lentil Leaf Rolls & Salad with Kreamy Curry Dressing

Thursday
Lunch: Salad with Kreamy Curry Dressing
Dinner: Homemade Nori Rolls

Friday
Lunch: Nori Rolls (if there’s any left) for a snack, but I think that I’ll probably eat out since I get off work early that day and plan on heading out to stock up on GF flours and herbs.
Dinner: I like to leave this night open for any possible leftovers that need to be eaten

Saturday
Dinner: Chicken Pot Pie

I don’t really have too many links for my menu selection yet, but I will get some of the recipes up as the week goes along. I should point out now that I’m not very big on breakfast. I usually make fresh fruit juice and eat whatever fruit is available to me. I find that anything else just sits in my tummy, dragging me down for the day.

I hope that everyone has a great week,
Happy GF Eating!
M-Elle
Categories: Menu Swap, RAW Living
  1. April 28, 2008 at 1:36 pm

    welcome to the swap. Your menu sounds great

  2. April 28, 2008 at 6:48 pm

    Welcome aboard! Sometimes it is tough figuring out your menu, but then the rest of the week falls into place and is easier. I find I spend less on groceries too. Let us know what you do with the pea flour!

  3. April 28, 2008 at 6:49 pm

    Yay for your first meal-planning post!

  4. April 29, 2008 at 12:08 am

    Thanks, it’s good to actively be doing something with other GF foodies!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

