Home > Gluten-Free, Menu Swap > GF Menu Swap: greens

GF Menu Swap: greens

MMMMMM!  I am slowly starting to discover the joys of greens.  I have always been a big green salad fan, particularly during the spring and summer months, but that was with romaine, green leaf, red leaf, etc…  The big greens, such as kale, chard, and beet tops (to name a few) have been harder to incorporate into my diet.  However, I discovered lightly steamed kale last week that has been massaged with fresh avocadoes and a light EVOO/tamari dressing – can we say AMAZING?!  My mom has been very big on green smoothies for however many years, but I have always avoided them.  Last week I was introduced to a very simple green smoothie that was delicious and the week before my mom shared one of her new green smoothies that has oranges and pineapple add into it.  Aside from the fact that it’s green, I would never have known that it was jam-packed full of spirulina and kale.

Thanks to Angela (Angela’s Kitchen) and her choice theme of greens, I am even more motivated to include them into our diet.  Particularly as they are very important.  In fact, while typing this I was inspired to make my own green smoothie, or Green Monster, as Angela likes to refer to them.  Sadly, it wasn’t quite as good as my mom’s, but that’s okay.  Thankfully I have lots of oranges so I will use this as a base and mix it with fresh orange juice.  This smoothie has 3 kale leaves, 1 tsp. maca powder, spirulina, 1-1/2 cups fresh pineapple chunks, 2 whole oranges.

Green Smoothies are a great way to sneak a serving of greens into your diet, particularly if you don’t like the taste of them.  By juicing them up you are making it easier for your system to digest the greens and absorbing more of the nutrients.  If you’re interested in making in your own green smoothies, you can check out the following websites for recipes.

My goal for this week is to have atleast one green smoothie 3x this week.  I have included a chart below of some of the foods that I will be playing around with to try and create some of my own yummy concoctions (I hope…).

GREENS FLAVOUR BOOSTERS
  • Kale
  • Celery
  • Baby spinach
  • Mixed greens
  • Romaine lettuce
  • chard
  • apples
  • oranges
  • pineapple
  • strawberries
  • pear
  • ginger
  • bananas
  • mango

 

MY MENU

DINNER:

  • Lemon Dill Chicken with Fried Mushrooms & Onion and Greek Salad (my fiance’s specialty)
  • Sesame Thai Beef (The Best Gluten-Free Family Cookbook)
  • Chickpea salad over a bed of greens
  • Hearty Minestrone Soup
  • Vegetarian Spaghetti
  • Turkey & gravy, roast potatoes, brussels, parmesan cauliflower, popovers and Pineapple Carrot Cake for dessert

LUNCH:

  • Greek Salad over rice
  • Veggie Sandwich (filled with green leaf lettuce)
  • Chickpea Salad
  • Basmati rice & lentil kitchari

THINGS TO MAKE/PREP:

  • Rich Cookie Dough (The Best Gluten-Free Family Cookbook)
  • Popover dry mix
  • Pineapple Carrot Cake (Friday night)
  • Bread (some dry mixes for the upcoming weeks too, hopefully)
  • Croutons
  • Thaw vegetarian spaghetti sauce
Categories: Gluten-Free, Menu Swap
  1. April 12, 2011 at 7:06 am | #1

    Thanks for the green smoothie links. I gotta go check those out. I love smoothies and am always on the look out for more. Your menu is so tasty. Thanks for sharing all the inspiring ideas. The lemon dill chicken sounds amazing.

    Have a great week!

  1. April 12, 2011 at 5:36 am | #1

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

