Home > Menu Swap > GF Menu Swap – chia seeds

GF Menu Swap – chia seeds

I am going to throw this up really quickly because I see that everyone has their menus up already!  I am in the middle of playing catch-up after having a rough weekend with my back, but I am feeling much better thanks to my first (of many I think) yoga classes.  The difference this one class has made is amazing!!! 

I am the host for this week and I have chosen chia seeds because of their nutritious benefits.  I have only just discovered these lovely little seeds that you may remember from the “Chia Pets” commercials and I have to say that I quite enjoy them.  I have heard of them off and on from other blogs, but it was Angela of Oh She Glows and her Vegan Overnight Oats (I linked up to her breakfast selection) who really got me onto these.  Sadly, I can’t have too many of her overnight oats (gluten-free, of course) as I do have tend to have reactions; I am hoping that maybe with time and gradual exposure I will be able to enjoy them more often as I find them to be a great breakfast – something that I am not usually a fan of.

I have also been adding chia seeds to my cereal (on my oat-free mornings); I simply put a teaspoon of seeds into my cereal bowl, pour in some nut milk so that it is just covering the seeds and leave it to sit for about 20-40 minutes (if using regular milk you may want to refrigerate).  Then I pour my cereal in, mix it up and add some more nut milk.  It is delicious.  However, I have been reading that you can also use chia seeds in baking recipes to replace half of the butter or oil that is called for (I haven’t tried it yet, but I read it somewhere…I just can’t seem to find where).  

Another one of the reasons that I chose these seeds as my ingredient is because they are suppose to be very beneficial to building muscle and tissue, something that I am in desperate need of and are jam-packed full of minerals and essential fatty acids!!!  They are also great at assisting with hydration.  I am just going to share one last thing with you (I could go on but then I would never get to the menu plans!) and that is that they are great at helping with acid reflux.  I read about it, but it was my fiance who tried it and he found that it made a huge difference!   There is so much more information out there, and I know for a fact that Cheryl of GF Goodness has an article of her own that gives much more detail than I have.

MY MENU:

SUNDAY – Dill Baked Cod with Caesar Salad

MONDAY – Citrus Infused Prawns with Miso Noodle Soup

TUESDAY – Organic Beef Tenderloin Steak wrapped in Bacon & Caesar Salad Oops!  change of plans! free-for-all of leftovers and last minute dinners out

WEDNESDAY – Chili (my fiance needs to master his recipe for the Tacoma Chili Cookoff in March)

THURSDAY – Thai Vegetable Curry with Lemon Grass Rice (Eating for Health: Foods That Heal)

FRIDAY – Organic Bacon wrapped Beef Tenderloins & Caesar Salad

SATURDAY – Greek Food (Dinner out for Valentine’s Day)

The Roundup:

Cheryl of Gluten-Free Goodness shares some of her recipes that she has used chia seeds in as well as the article that I mentioned above and another one on baking with chia seeds – definitely have to check that one out!  She has quinoa with kalamata olives on her menu for this week, which sounds wonderful – I love kalamata olives!

Sea Maiden of Book of Yum is joining us this week  with her multicultural themed meals; Chinese, Italian, Indian and American.  She is also sharing a vegan, dairy-free, soy-free chocolate frosting recipe that she made.  I have to say that I thought I had my fill of cake yesterday trying to find a wedding cake flavour, but those cupcakes and frosting pics are looking mighty tempting!

Wendy of Celiacs in the House is recovering from a really bad flu bug last week, but thankfully she is feeling much better.  She didn’t get a chance to do last week’s menu so she is going to try it out this week instead.  She has also kindly shared a link to GF Girl & the Chef who have been using chia seeds in place of gums in their recipes.  I am so glad that Wendy is on the mend!

G-Free Mom has been soaking up the sunshine for her vitamin D content and has made sure that her menu for this week has some good sources of vitamin D and calcium.  She will also be testing recipes for the Whole Foods Kitchen’s upcoming cookbook.  Her menu, like Wendy’s, includes chicken fingers, and like myself, she is going to make a chili.

Over at In My Box Scrumptious is experimenting with a couple of new recipes this week in order to check out these chia seeds.  She is planning on making GF Goodness’s pear skillet bread and trying out some vegan overnight oats for breakfast.  She also has plans to finish the week off and start the next week fermenting foods in her Culture Club, that sounds like a fabulous time and I can’t wait to hear all about it.

Beyond Rice and Tofu is working on using what’s in her cupboards for her menu this week, a wonderful idea and one that I should adopt for our house!  She has some very yummy dinners planned for this week, such as teriyaki tofu stir-fry with rice and homemade tamales (she has even shared the link for her recipe)!

My sincere apologies to the Celiac Family as I missed their post in my roundup!  As usual, Heather has a great menu lined up for this week, including mexican chicken pizza and indian chicken.  Heather has also started to play with chia seeds this week by adding them to her bread mix and found that they didn’t change the taste or texture so she’s going to add them to her pizza crust as well!

Don’t forget to stop by our Gluten-Free Menu Swap/Plan Headquarters over at Gluten-Free Goodness to see who’s hosting next week or if you want to host!

Categories: Menu Swap
  1. February 8, 2011 at 2:57 am

    Sorry to hear your back is giving you trouble, but happy to hear yoga is helping. Thanks for hosting this week.

  2. February 8, 2011 at 7:41 am

    Hi Michelle,
    Thanks so much for hosting this week! It took me a long time to get my menu up, but here it is: http://inmybox.wordpress.com/2011/02/07/high-pressure-experiments-on-a-vegan-gluten-free-menu-plan-monday/

    I like the theme of chia. It gave me much-needed motivation to go buy a banana and try those vegan overnight oats I’ve been wanting to make for a long time!

  3. February 8, 2011 at 11:55 am

    What a great round-up this week. Thanks Michelle. Your curry sounds amazing.

    • February 8, 2011 at 11:31 pm

      Thanks Nicola! I’ll let you know how the curry is – it’s my first time making it.

  4. February 8, 2011 at 4:41 pm

    Sorry I’m linking late – couldn’t find an email address for you. My menu is posted: http://celiacfamily.com/menu-plan-february-7/

  5. February 8, 2011 at 11:07 pm

    Looks like a great menu!!
    We eat raw, vegan and GF/DF. Tricky household! But I am sure I can get great GF ideas here.
    Peace & Raw Health,
    Elizabeth

    • February 8, 2011 at 11:31 pm

      Thanks Elizabeth!
      My mom likes to try and eat raw but my fiance is a meat eater. I try to compromise, but it can be tricky. I would love to eliminate the dairy and eventually the meat…that’s why I play around with recipes.

  1. February 8, 2011 at 7:01 am
  2. February 8, 2011 at 9:25 am
  3. February 8, 2011 at 4:44 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

