Home > Gluten-Free, Menu Swap > Gluten-Free Menu Swap: holiday favourites

Gluten-Free Menu Swap: holiday favourites

Happy Thanksgiving to everyone south of the Canadian border!

I will be hosting this week’s menu swap and can’t wait to see what some our menu planners have in store for this holiday week.  In honour of this week’s Thanksgiving, I have chosen Holiday Favourites as my theme, especially since Christmas will be here very soon.  Sadly I have already had my Thanksgiving dinner, but due to family coming from different parts of British Columbia and others going away for Christmas, we have a couple of “Christmas” dinners coming our way.

Some of my holiday favourites:

  • yorkshire pudding/popovers (I use Carol Fenster’s recipe from Wheat Free Recipes & Menus)
  • savoury bread pudding (my dad makes this for me)
  • apple pie
  • turkey sandwiches
  • turkey soup
  • roasted potatoes

This week’s menu is pretty simple.

SUNDAY – Pizza (I am in need of a lunch that I can eat on the run)

MONDAY – Hamburger Soup & leftover tortiere

TUESDAY – Basa fillets (never did get to this last week) & green salad

WEDNESDAY – Turkey Bacon & Eggs

THURSDAY

FRIDAY – Salmon (of some sort with some veg…)

SATURDAY – My boyfriend’s son’s choice

SOUP OF THE WEEK:  Millet stew/Hamburger soup

LUNCHES:

SNACKIES:

Heather of Celiac Family has done a fabulous job of gathering gluten-free holiday favourites and has even included her Thanksgiving menu!  It sounds like a delicious feast, and I can’t wait to hear how the cranberry relish turns out.  This week’s menu is based on using up any leftovers to make room for Thanksgiving.

G-Free Mom will also be using up some leftovers to create another tasty dish for dinner tonight and is in the process of curing some salmon for lox to take to friends on Thanksgiving (stay tuned for this recipe).  She also has plans to make a large pot of soup so that she can freeze half of it for when they return from skiing.

Our headquarters host, Gluten-Free Goodness, doesn’t have a menu plan for this week because she is overloaded, but she has taken the time in her busy schedule to share some of her holiday favourites and wishes everyone a wonderful holiday.

Categories: Gluten-Free, Menu Swap
  1. November 22, 2010 at 9:53 pm | #1

    Holiday Favorites sounds good to me. I found lots of good GF recipes perfect for the holidays, so I put them on my post: http://celiacfamily.com/?p=4670 Thanks for hosting!

  2. November 23, 2010 at 5:10 am | #2

    I keep forgetting that sweet potato fries are a perfect gluten free snack. Thanks for the reminder! I’ve just put up my menu plan post:

    http://gfreemom.com/2010/gluten-free-menu-plan-november-22/.

    Thanks for hosting!

  3. November 23, 2010 at 8:33 am | #3

    I’m late…sorry…thanks for hosting…and I just realized you included my post! man what a good hostess you are. I LOVE turkey soup, and feel better just feeling about it.
    Wishing you and yours a beautiful holiday and I’d love to hear more about your falafel.

  1. November 22, 2010 at 9:55 pm | #1

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

