Home > Gluten-Free, Menu Swap > Gluten-Free Menu Swap – Pumpkin

Gluten-Free Menu Swap – Pumpkin

I can’t believe that it is the last week of October!  I’d ask where has the time gone, but I think that would just be redundant.  I’m sorry that I missed last week’s menu swap, but I spent last monday curled up on our couch with pillows and blankets, eucalyptus oil and a heating pad.  I must admit, I felt awful that day, but it was the best day ever!  It’s been a while since I’ve spent a day doing nothing but stare at the t.v.  Of course, that was once the stresses of assuring everything was taken care of at work without me (apparently my students had some anxiety over my absence).   Besides, my menu plan was thrown out the window last week with me being out for a day and then my boyfriend was out for most of the week.  I don’t remember what we ate monday and tuesday, but I know that wednesday and thursday turned into hamburger soup (recipe to follow soon) days and Friday was take out and movies, which I fell asleep during.  That was my week, but it was a pretty good one, so I can’t complain.

I am the host for this week’s menu plan and pumpkin is my ingredient of choice. 

Pumpkins have a long history and are particulary valued by the Natives.  The different tribes had varying uses for pumpkins, both functional and healing, such as drying thin strips to make mats, mixing powdered pumpkin with water to cleanse the urinary tract or  to rid their bodies of worms. 

Today, both the pumpkin and it’s seeds are a good source of iron (one of the reasons that they are big in my household) as well as manganese, magnesium, phosphorus, tryptophan, potassium, copper, vitamin K, zinc and protein.  Wow!  That’s a mouthful.  These babies are delicious in breads and muffins, or over salads.  We always buy raw seeds because they are jam-packed with these nutrients; they lose a great deal of these health benefits when they have been cooked.  All of the above nutrients are good for prostate health, to lower cholesterol and also have an anti-inflammatory effect on arthritis.  Pumpkins are most commonly used in baking, but I have just discoverd that they are delicious baked in the oven and eaten for dinner (or lunch). 

How do you like your pumpkin or pumpkin seeds?

My menu for this week is still based on the Eating Alive program (from Eating Alive: Prevention thru good digestion).  We are still in stage 1 and I have to admit it has not been easy, but it’s getting better.  We have cheated a couple of times (yikes!), but that’s okay.  My main focus is that everything occurs in moderation.  This means that we are still separating our carbs (lunch) from our proteins (dinner) and have completely eliminated sugar, alcohol and caffeine.  Dairy is also suppose to be elimated, which we have pretty much done, but we haven’t been strict about it.  We are still having is kefir because I strongly believe that it helps with the good intestinal flora, something that we both need.  Otherwise, I have actually managed to get my boyfriend off of milk!!!  If you knew him, you would know that this is no easy feat.  He loves having his glasses of milk throughout the day.  Instead, he has been drinking the kefir, and, while he was sick this week, hemp and almond milk and enjoying them both!  I’m crossing my fingers that the milk is gone for good or that this is at least a stepping stone to decrease his consumption.  We have one more week of stage 1 and then we can move into stage 2, which is reintroducing dairy and a few other things into our diets.  I’ll be honest.  I have tried to write a post with more details about this diet that we’re currently on, but none of my drafts have sounded right.  I will try really hard to get one written up this week.

Now, on with the Menu!  If anyone is interested in joining our Menu Swap or even hosting, please visit our headquarters at Gluten-Free Goodness for details.

SUNDAY – Rotisserie chicken with salad

MONDAY – Chicken soup with salad

TUESDAY – Gram’s Homemade Tomato Burgers with green salad

WEDNESDAY – Vegetable Stirfry

THURSDAY – Bison meatloaf (for him)/Chicken soup (for me) with green salad

FRIDAY – Crispy pecan chicken fingers & caesar salad

SATURDAYOld Spaghetti Factory (???)

SOUP OF THE WEEK:  Chicken soup

LUNCHES:

SNACKIES:

  • Crackers & sweet lime hummus
  • Veggies & dip
  • Hardboiled eggs (for him)
  • Green salad
  • Celery stix with almond butter
  • Greek salad
  • Raw almonds and cashews
  • Pumpkin scones
  • Pumpkin bread/muffins

And now to see what everyone else is having!

Lisa of Extraordinary Life has just returned from camping and is exhausted, but that hasn’t stopped her from planning some yummy meals for the week.  I’m personally excited to hear about her chicken and dumplings as that is something that I have not had since my diagnosis and it was one of my favourite meals!  She also has some classic comfort foods planned for the week, such as chicken pot pie and shepards pie.

Gluten-Free Goodness has a sprained ankle, but that’s not stopping her from preparing for their pumpkin carving party!  That means that she is baking up a storm this week; thankfully, she has all of her mixes ready to go.  The menu sounds like a great autumn party with sweet potato corn bread, chicken chili (which I just might have to add to my menu) and Hallowe’en popcorn cake.  Don’t forget to check out her basil – I’m dying to know her secret.

Like our house, Wendy and her family have been under the weather.  Thankfully they are on the mend and she has planned this weeks meals based on a couple of roasted spices she was given at the BlogHer conference.Head on over the Celiacs in the House to check out the butternut squash soup and shepard’s pie recipes, and to hear more about these new and interesting roasted spices.

Heather has updated her GF Candy List just in time for hallowe’en, a list that no gluten-free individual should be without!  As usual, Celiac Family has me drooling over her menu with taquitos and tilapia parmesan.  And I see that I’m not the only one with plans for my rotisserie.  She has also been on a pumpkin baking spree with pumpkin pie and chocolate pumpkin muffins!  I think that I may have to check out her chicken vindaloo recipe…

Categories: Gluten-Free, Menu Swap
  1. October 25, 2010 at 5:15 pm | #1

    Thank you for hosting. I have my menu plan up.
    http://my-extraordinary-life.blogspot.com/2010/10/menu-plan-monday-week-of-october-25th.html
    I wish we had an Old Spaghetti Factor around here. How awesome hat you get to eat out and have a gluten free italian meal.

  2. October 25, 2010 at 7:22 pm | #2

    Thanks for hosting this week. I didn’t know pumpkins had all the good stuff you listed. Iron, too? I guess I better start roasting some seeds. I made a couple pumpkin desserts this weekend to share with family. It’s definitely starting to taste like fall. :) Here’s my menu plan for the week: http://celiacfamily.com/menu-plan-october-24/

  3. October 25, 2010 at 10:15 pm | #3

    My menu is up, finally. Having trouble with Blogger not letting me upload photos. Can’t do a post without pretty pictures. I haven’t tried the gf menu at Old Spaghetti Factory. Would love to hear about your experience.
    http://celiacsinthehouse.blogspot.com/2010/10/gluten-free-menu-swapmenu-plan-monday_25.html
    Wendy

  4. October 25, 2010 at 10:57 pm | #4

    Hi Michelle,
    Thanks so much for hosting! Have you tried coconut milk kefir? might be a way to keep in the good bugs without the dairy. Your quinoa black bean salad is similar to mine! great minds think alike.

    Here’s my plan:
    http://www.gfgoodness.com/2010/10/25/menu-plan-monday-pumpkins/

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

