Home > Gluten-Free, Menu Swap > Menu Swap – potatoes

Menu Swap – potatoes

I am running a little late with this posting, but I have a very valid reason.  It’s Thanksgiving day here in rainy Vancouver and we decided to have a turkey dinner with all the fixings at the last minute…literally.  My boyfriend and I were out at one of our favourite shops, Organic World, to pick up some meats for the dogs and saw that they still had a bunch of turkeys.  Well, my boyfriend started telling me how disappointed he was that he wasn’t having turkey this Thanksgiving and so I told him to grab a turkey if he wanted and we could cook it up for dinner.  So, that’s what we’re doing.  Thankfully it’s a fresh turkey, so it cooks much faster.  Interestingly enough, he’s the only one who will be having turkey tonight as I really don’t like it, strange, I know.

This week’s host is Celiac Family, who always has some wonderful menus planned for the week.  The ingredient is potatoes and I think that many of us are in agreement that her post on irish potato farls sounds fabulous!  Check out Heather’s site for other menu plans and for some great recipes to help you plan your own menu.

My menu for this week is based on Dr. Matsden’s Eating Alive program (using his book, Eating Alive: Prevention thru digestion), or at least it will be, starting Tuesday.  The idea behind this plan is to separate your carbohydrates from your proteins when eating in order to allow your body to digest them completely.  My reason for starting this diet is not to lose weight, but to cleanse my system while maintaining my regular work schedule.  I have been feeling very lethargic for the past few months and have had some stomach upsets, a sign that my system is in need of a cleanse.  My boyfriend will also be joining me in this journey.  Basically, for the next three weeks (starting tomorrow, Tuesday October 12) we will be eliminating the following:

Alcohol Baking yeast
Coffee Peanuts
White sugar Brown sugar
Tea (not loose leaf) Dairy
Chocolate Pork

After those three weeks, we will slowly start to re-introduce these back into our diets, but they will be limited.  Thankfully, potatoes are not on the list of things to exclude – yea!!!

SUNDAYOrganic Lives (amazing RAW Foods restaurant)

MONDAY – Roast Turkey with veggies, roast potatoes and popovers

TUESDAY – Turkey soup

WEDNESDAY – Fish with oriental salad and garlic roasted cauliflower

THURSDAY – Stir-fry with beets salad

FRIDAY – Rosemary grilled chicken with steamed veggies & green salad

SATURDAY – Roast Beef with grilled veggies and green salad

SOUP OF THE WEEK:  Turkey Soup

LUNCHES:

  • Roasted potatoes and green salad 
  • Curried red lentils over rice
  • Spinach salad with falafel spread on crackers
  • Quinoa salad with veggies and dip
  • Avocado half with pumpkin & sunflower seeds, spinach salad

 SNACKS:

  • Pumpkin bread (substitute honey for sugar & apple for oil)
  • Crackers with an avocado spread
  • Veggies & dip
  • Falafel spread & flat bread
  • Mighty Tasty Muffins (substitute almond milk and honey for the dairy and sugar)
  • Raw cashews, almonds, pumpkin seeds & sunflower seeds

HAPPY THANKSGIVING!

Categories: Gluten-Free, Menu Swap
  1. October 21, 2010 at 2:59 am | #1

    Hello! My name’s Taylor and I just started a GF blog, http://www.nograinnopain.wordpress.com. I’ve added you to my blog roll and wondered if you would do the same? Love your blog!

  2. October 21, 2010 at 4:23 am | #2

    PS, sorry, I’m not trying to spam you. I didn’t know how else to make myself known. Thanks again – Taylor

    • October 24, 2010 at 10:09 pm | #3

      LOL! No worries. I knew that you weren’t spam as soon as I saw your blog. Thanks for the add and I will do the same right now!

      Welcome to the Blogging world!
      Michelle

  1. October 12, 2010 at 10:08 am | #1

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

