Home > Gluten-Free, RAW Living > Ginger Peanut Sauce with Rice Paper Wraps

Ginger Peanut Sauce with Rice Paper Wraps

 

Ever since going gluten free I have pretty much stayed out of the local bakeries and delis, but I was in the Safeway deli area a few weeks ago and happened to pass the Vietnamese Rice Wraps with Ginger dipping sauce and almost died. I absolutely love these but I don’t dare touch them because the dipping sauce has wheat in it. It has taken me a while but I have finally taken it upon myself and created my own rice wraps. In my opinion these were 1,000 times better than the plain vietnamese rolls because they had only a spoonful of rice noodles and LOADS of veggies. I didn’t put any shrimp in these ones, but I think that they would taste even better with that little addition. But the best part was the dipping sauce. I had originally made the sauce I found on FoodTV but with a few adjustments because I was lacking a few ingredients, but my mom suggested adding peanut butter and ginger to spruce up the flavour and she was right. The sauce is quick and easy and very useful to keep on hand. It would go well on rice noodles for a quick meal or even as a stirfry sauce.
So, to start off 2009 I am going to post the dipping sauce and rice wrap recipes because they are going to be a weekly staple in my lunches. I think that these will also come in handy for my Saturday classes and my Wednesday dinner run between work and classes. I hope that you enjoy these as much as I do!
Ginger Peanut Dipping Sauce
adapted from FoodTV’s The Cookworks recipe
 
½ cup Orange Juice, freshly squeezed, undiluted
3 Tbsp. Honey
2-3 Tbsp. GF Tamari
Juice of 1 Lime
1 Tbsp. EVOO
1 Tbsp. Red Wine Vinegar
¼ – ½ tsp. Cayenne Pepper
½ – 1 tsp. Salt
2-3 Tbsp. Peanut Butter
1 heaping Tbsp. Ginger, grated
  
 Place all ingredients into a blender and mix together. Let sit for 30 minutes at least in order for the flavours to blend (room temperature or in the fridge if not using right away). Serve with Rice Paper Wraps or as a stir fry sauce. 

  

Note: If you don’t want to go to the trouble of using a blender, you can simply place all ingredients into a jar and shake them together (I really hate scraping extras out of a blender and prefer to “shake, shake, shake my silly’s out” when making this)

   

Rice Wraps
 

  

Grated Carrot
1 sliced Bell Pepper
Fresh lettuce leaves
Fresh mint leaves (or other fresh herb)
Thinly sliced Celery
Shrimp (optional)

   

1-2 squares of rice noodles
Sushi Vinegar (or Rice Vinegar and sweetener) 

  

Rice Paper wraps
Pan of warm water  

Cook up rice noodles and then add Sushi Vinegar (or rice vinegar and sweetener). Set aside. Wash and cut/grate all vegetables.  

Place warm water in frying pan (works well because it is flat and shallow). Then soak 1 rice paper wrap into the water and let sit for about 10-20 seconds or until the rice paper is softened. Remove from water and place on a clean dish towel. You can either transfer it over to a plate or add all filling while on the dish towel. Roll up nice and tight, with the sides tucked in. Repeat until you have all the wraps that you need.  

I usually wrap these up in saran wrap and refrigerate for my lunch.  

Serve with Ginger Peanut Sauce.  

UPDATE:  I have been using shredded jicama in place of rice noodles in these to take out some of the starch.  They still taste delicious and are filled with veggie goodness!  

  This post is linked to Amy’s Slightly Indulgent Tuesdays. 

 

Categories: Gluten-Free, RAW Living
  1. January 5, 2009 at 7:34 pm

    These look scrumptious! Where do you find the rice wraps? I definitely want to try this recipe out.

  2. January 5, 2009 at 8:27 pm

    They are usually in the asian section of the supermarkets. Safeway, IGA, Save-On-Foods should have them. If not, any asian store will definitely have them.A little tid-bit; these will grow a little bit once they have been soaked just in case you are expecting them to be a certain size. I usually get the medium size.

  3. January 8, 2009 at 6:45 am

    Awesome, thanks so much! I’ll take a look for them around our rice noodles then.

  4. May 17, 2009 at 3:26 am

    These look wonderful! I make rice paper wraps a lot, but have gotten better at them since being given a tip by a waitress at a Vietnamese restaurant. She said to retrieve the rice paper wrapper from the hot water BEFORE you think it’s ready. By the time you lay it on your surface to fill it with your ingredients, it will be totally ready, even if it didn’t feel like it when you pulled it out of the water. She is right! Works every time!~Ellenwww.Iamglutenfree.blogspot.com

  1. February 1, 2011 at 2:34 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

